Guest Post: Sara Brooke – The Zyne Project Tour

Today I have the distinct pleasure of presenting you with a guest post written by Sara Brooke. Sara is the author of The Zyne Project which is currently making the rounds of the blogosphere on a book tour! If you’re interested in the rest of the tour, you can find out more information on Free Book Dude.

Now let’s find out a little bit more about Sara…

Sara BrookeSara Brooke is a horror and suspense novelist living in South Florida. A lifelong avid reader of all things scary, Sara’s childhood dream was to write horror books that force readers to sleep with their lights on.

Her first novel, Still Lake, was released Spring 2012.

Sara’s influences and favorite authors include Bentley Little, John Saul, William Blackstone, and Joe McKinney. 

She is presently working on her next novel.

And now for Sara’s guest post…

Why Do I Write Horror Novels?

It’s a question I get asked constantly.

Whenever I meet someone, usually a female, she typically gets all excited when realizing that I’m a published author.  Then, the inevitable question always arises.

“What do you write about?”

At this point, I smile and hesitate, at which point the other person continues to press me. So, I finally give in.

“I write horror novels.”

Now, there are two different responses that come next. The first (and rare) reaction is excitement.  Some people still don’t realize that I’ve got three books on the market in addition to several short stories.  If they enjoy scary stuff, the reaction is positive and they head off to buy my books in a flash.

But, the other reaction is more typical.

“Why?”  – is the question that comes next from people who don’t enjoy horror and never will.

Now tell me dear reader, how do you answer that question?   Why does anyone do anything?  I could answer the question like this, “Because I enjoy it, things that scare me are exciting, and I don’t think I’m really that good at writing about anything else.”

I’ve tried that answer a few times and it doesn’t work.  The person still stares at me like I’m a creature from the deep…a new species that they’ve just discovered hiding in the sewage system under their house.

Ok, so they’re not into horror – I can live with that.  But then, I start fumbling and looking for something else to say like, “Well, my books aren’t that gruesome” or “There’s a lot of sex in them, so I think you’ll like the books anyway.”

Yikes.

Neither of these responses ever works, because first of all, my books ARE gruesome, there is a lot of sex in them – sometimes crazy sex, and honestly…why do I need to defend that I’m writing about horror and not romance?

My grandmother used to have access to my Facebook account and she posted the following. (Keep in mind that her eyesight is going bad, so she writes everything in capital letters):

Me: Announcing the release of The Zyne Project – A horrific journey into the pits of hell.

Grandmother: WHY ARE YOU WRITING ABOUT SUCH HORRIBLE THINGS?!  WHY DON’T YOU WRITE LIKE NORA ROBERTS?

Sigh.

I write horror, because I enjoy it.  There is no greater thrill than when a reader says that my novels really scared them.

When I’m writing books like The Zyne Project, there are tons of surprises, frightening moments, and sex.

That’s what I like, that’s what my fans like, and that’s what I’m going to continue to write about.  So, if you enjoy horror – check out some of my work.  And let me know what you think, because I truly love the feedback.

But if you’re looking for comedy or romance, I’ll be sure to hook you up with my grandmother who has a list of great suggestions 😉

Now let’s take a look at her book The Zyne Project (Don’t forget to click on the cover to be taken straight to Amazon)…

The Zyne ProjectBe prepared to take a journey into the pits of hell, courtesy of the Zyne Corporation.

Six people agree to participate in a first-of-its-kind clinical trial. They’re ready to change the face of science, but they’re the ones who start changing. As each subject succumbs to the horror of the trial, they begin to turn against each other…and discover the nightmare within. What was supposed to be a medical breakthrough is turning regular people into something unimaginable. And there may be a deeper truth even more frightening than the beastly evolution occurring…

Thank you Sara! If you would like to connect with Sara, you can find her on Twitter or on her website. Before I leave you, here are a few more words from Sara herself…

I’m very excited to share with you that my new horror novel, The Zyne Project, is now available at Amazon and Barnes and Noble in eversion. Bram Stoker Award-Winner Joe McKinney calls it “A Zombie outbreak like no other…Medical Research hasn’t been this frightening since Michael Crichton!” I hope you get a chance to check it out and appreciate your support. ~ Sara

One thought on “Guest Post: Sara Brooke – The Zyne Project Tour

Leave a comment