A Review from my Commute · Publishing Industry/News

A REVIEW FROM MY COMMUTE: Field of Blood – Denise Mina #Crime #Mystery #Scotland

So in keeping with my promise to get these reviews out to the world at large, I’m back with another installment of A Review from my Commute. Today I’ll be sharing with you my thoughts on:

Field of Blood

Denise Mina

Here’s the synopsis so that you’ve got a little context…

FieldofBloodA sensational murder provides the young journalist Paddy Meehan with her big professional break when she realizes that she has a personal connection to one of the suspects. Launching her own investigation, Paddy uncovers lines of deception that go deep into the past – and that could spell even more horrible crimes in the future if she doesn’t get the story right.

So what are my thoughts on Field of Blood?

Delightful and devilish.

I believe that about sums it up! I’m a huge sucker for crime drama and this one delivered from a wholly different perspective. The book itself is set in Scotland and the actress who read the story was Scottish so if the idea of an accent turns you off, don’t consider listening to this one – read it instead.

The plot itself was full of twists and turns, along with characters that were interesting and multidimensional. It also gave a glimpse into the cultural landscape of Scotland in the 1970s which felt like a character in and of itself. I loved every minute of it. Oh and I just discovered that it was adapted to a television series by the BBC so I’m definitely going to search it out.

Rating: 5 out of 5

Leave a Reply

