A Review from my Commute

A REVIEW FROM MY COMMUTE: The Girl on the Train — Paula Hawkins #Mystery

I’m woefully behind on posting reviews for the audiobooks I’ve listened to on my commute to and from work each day but life has a habit of getting busier than a bunny at Easter. I will get caught up though and this is the beginning of getting caught up…

This is my review for…

The Girl on the Train

Paula Hawkins

TheGirlontheTrain.jpg

I truly enjoyed every moment of this audiobook! I found myself wanting to stay a little longer in the car each time I parked just to listen to a little bit more.

The book itself is divided into the three perspectives of the women’s lives the story contains and each section is read by a different woman. As the story unfolds, you’re introduced to the three main players and I swear the actresses were chosen simply for the effect their voices would have on you.

At first you’re introduced to Rachel whose voice is a little smooth and a little stressed – as the story develops you really feel for her. Then you get to Jess/Megan (it’ll make sense when you read the book or listen to it) and you’re struck by the perfectness of her voice which soon transcends into something different as her story takes its twists and turns. And then you have Anna, whom at first I didn’t warm to, as her voice was cold and somewhat unsympathetic, but then as I got deeper into the plot, it was like her voice changed as her character’s perspective changed. All of this may have been psychosomatic on my part but there was something in those voices that really helped to frame my interpretation of the plot as it unfolded.

I’d highly recommend this one.

Rating: 5 out of 5

4 thoughts on “A REVIEW FROM MY COMMUTE: The Girl on the Train — Paula Hawkins #Mystery

Leave a Reply

