Book Tour · Interviews

BLOG TOUR: One Bad Fur Day by K. Trap Jones | #Interview #Horror

Thank you for stopping by The FlipSide of Julianne today. I’ve got a treat instore for you today in the form of K. Trap Jones and an interview with him regarding his writing and his most recent release One Bad Fur Day. One Bad Fur Day is a special type of horror novel in that it’s completely anthropomorphized—he tells the tale through the eyes of the animals. It’s a great read and one I think you should all pick up. But first off, let’s learn a little bit about its author…

KTrapJones_photoK. Trap Jones is an author of horror novels and over 50 short stories. With inspiration from Dante Alighieri and Edgar Allan Poe, he has a temptation towards narrative folklore, classic literary works and obscure segments within society.

His novel The Sinner (Blood Bound Books) won the 2010 Royal Palm Literary Award. His splatterpunk novella, The Drunken Exorcist has been released by Necro Publications. His narrative horror short story collection, The Crossroads is available from Hazardous Press.

He is also a member of the Horror Writer’s Association and can be found lurking around Tampa, Florida.

Welcome K. Trap! Let’s start off by asking an easy question: what does your significant other and family think of your writing career?

Writing is a hobby for me. I really don’t talk about it too much in my ‘real life’. With that said, my wife and family think it’s cool. I brainstorm a lot of ideas with my wife and she has edited a few stories. I don’t push my books on to my extended family, simply because you either like horror or you don’t like horror. And I would never expect some of my extreme horror novels to be discussed at a family reunion J

That’s fair. You’ve mentioned using your wife as a sounding board but do you have any other critique partners or beta readers?

I actually don’t use any critique partners or beta readers. I have nothing against them; they’ve just never been a part of my writing process. Once written and a self-edit is completed, I usually work with the Publisher/Editor to complete the story.

What one word best describes you?

Imaginative

Is there a writer you idolize? If so who?

I think the writer I idolize the most is Edward Lee. I really admire his style of writing. I look at extreme horror/splatterpunk as pushing the envelopes in the horror genre and Lee is the Godfather of the style.

Entice us, what future projects are you considering?

I have a few things in the works. I have two contracted novels coming out in a few months. The first is a splatterpunk novel called ‘The Charm Hunter’, coming 12.11.15 from Necro Publications & Bedlam Press. This is a crazy story about a bounty hunter who crosses path with Lady Luck. For the reward of everlasting luck, she tempts him into scouring fairy tales worlds in search of her beloved lost charms. The second novel due out this winter is ‘The King’s Ox’ from Strigidae Publishing. This one is a narrative dark fantasy/horror story which reinvents old time executioners into a merciless breed with the only task of providing death. There’s an unlikely friendship between this killing machine and a young prince as they travel through an unrelenting realm filled with barbarian hordes and insane creatures.

Of course, I will always fill my down time by continuing to write short stories.

All sound very intriguing… What are you passionate about these days?

Besides writing, I really enjoy watching my three sons excel at what interests them. My oldest plays a mean guitar and creates music. We go to a lot of music concerts and festivals throughout the year. My middle son plays baseball and I help coach the team. My youngest plays basketball. Most of my free time is spent traveling between the sports/music venues.

So let’s get down to the nitty gritty of why we’re here: who is your favourite character in One Bad Fur Day?

Difficult question because there is always a special bond between the main characters when you write narrative. So much emotion goes into him and it really does outweigh the others. Besides Sid, I think I would have to say the two possums, Phil and Parker. While writing these two, I always had a smile upon my face. The way they converse with one another and haphazardly set traps. They were fun to create.

What was the hardest part of writing One Bad Fur Day?

The hardest part about writing OBFD was the creation of the animal characters. I spent a week or so researching the mannerisms of them. I had a long list of animals I wanted to include, but ultimately had to trim it down. Each animal had certain limitations and I had to constantly be aware of those when writing the interactions.

Why write an anthropomorphised horror tale?

Inspiration for One Bad Fur Day came directly from my three sons and the ton of Pixar movies and cartoons I watched with them. During one of these movies, I thought to myself, “Wouldn’t it be great if one of these were geared towards adults?” An animated horror movie based on animals? Sounded great to me. I spent the next few weeks conjuring up the tale and researching different habitats and the species who dwelled within them.

If you could tell readers one thing about One Bad Fur Day that you think would interest them in reading it, what would it be?

OBFD is a unique look into the animal kingdom during the aftermath of a category 5 hurricane. The story is filled with some of the most memorable characters I have ever created. Even after writing the story, I still think about them and wonder what other types of chaos they could get themselves into. It is unpredictable with heavy twists and quite simply a roller coaster ride through Mother Nature’s landscape of turmoil.

The story begins with a famous quote from John Muir (1838-1914) which sums up the experience perfectly: The clearest way into the Universe is through a forest wilderness.

Using 10 words or less, tell me about One Bad Fur Day.

A suspense driven horror ride that blurs the lines between harsh reality and brutal imagery.

Thank you K. Trap for taking the time to answer my questions. If you’re interested in reading a little more about One Bad Fur Day, here’s the information…

KTrapJones_OneBadFurDay_FrontCoverCall it odd, call it off-beat, call it fantasy; but don’t think for a moment that One Bad Fur Day is anything other than a suspense driven horror ride that blurs the lines between harsh reality and brutal imagery…

As Hurricane Katrina barrels through the Louisiana bayous, the animal population is forced to deal with the tumultuous upheaval of their world. Sheriff Sid and his wife are caught completely off-guard by the natural disaster unfolding around them as they battle not only the turbulent winds and flooding waters, but heinous acts committed by other creatures inhabiting the backwaters. Following a brutal assault on his wife, Sid is forced to fight off voodoo-priestess snakes, a junkyard raccoon, deceitful badgers, and a band of roving power-hungry alligators. While clinging to his tenuous hold as sheriff, Sid must find a way to recapture what is rightfully his and exact his revenge.

K. Trap Jones does a fantastic job of pairing the genuine horror of a natural disaster with a story of deceit, betrayal and vengeance that pulls you in and forces the reader to identify with Sid as he journeys through the darkest reaches of the bayous, facing deadly encounters, on One Bad Fur Day!

One Bad Fur Day is available at:

Amazon: US | UK | Canada | Australia | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | Brazil | India | The Netherlands

Amazon Print: US | UK | Canada | Germany | France | Spain | Italy | Japan | Mexico | Brazil | India

Barnes & Noble (Print & eBook)

Kobo

iTunes

Smashwords

***

Catch up with the rest of the tour by clicking on the badge!

OneBadFurDay_KTrapJones_BlogTour_Badge

2 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: One Bad Fur Day by K. Trap Jones | #Interview #Horror

  1. I just grabbed my copy. Thanks for sharing this author. I live in the south and been through many hurricanes. Now, I’m wondering about animals! LOL Can’t wait to get started.

Leave a Reply

