A Monday for Anything · Book Review

A Monday for Anything: Review of Linda LaForge’s ‘Ashes’

To give you a little bit of background, I met Linda at FanExpo 2014 when we ended up side by side, sharing a table edge. We were both there to sell our books and talk about great Indie fiction with the masses of soon-to-be adoring fans.

I will admit the tagline of her book caught my attention and I gladly shelled out my hard earned dollars to buy a copy. That tagline is:

A Girl.

A Baby.

A Mass Extermination.

Who wouldn’t get drawn in by such intrigue? The imagery alone that ran through by brain at that moment is hard to quantify and yet, I knew that was I was thinking was likely to match what the plot line actually entailed. It’s a book with themes of dystopia, science fiction, fantasy, and horror all melding together seamlessly. It’s an interesting premise and LaForge’s take on what souls and their origins is something I have not encountered, making it wholly unique.

When I cracked open the spine a few days after Fan Expo was over, I was immediately drawn into the tale. Told in the first person, it draws you in and you begin to feel like you know Emily. You feel her pain at what she’s gone through and there’s a part of you that genuinely wants to help her find answers.

All of the characters are believable and while it may be a book told from the first person perspective, it’s not missing the character development that you normally see in a book told from the third person POV. If I had to pick a favourite, it’s a toss up between Emily and Dr. Norell who is painted in such a way that you truly felt his social awkwardness.

If you’re looking for something different that melds a few genres together, I wholehearted recommend Ashes. It’s got an interesting and eclectic set of characters that ring true to life and a plot that will leave you wanting more once the book is finished—I sincerely hope LaForge is working on a sequel!

4.5 stars out of 5 (rounded to 5 stars on all sites)

***

Ashes-cover-1200ABOUT THE BOOK – Emily Baker wakes in the hospital after miraculously surviving a bizarre car accident to discover she’s lost everything, including the love of her life. She meets Dr. Norrell, an odd scientist with personal hygiene issues and severe social impairment, who shows a strange interest in her. While facing the stresses of recuperation and financial burden, she discovers she’s pregnant and the sinister being is growing way too quickly. The only thing she is certain of – the doctor is connected. His story calls into question her spiritual and religious beliefs while her strangely vivid dreams all warn her of the dangerous and untouchable Dr. Norrell.

LindaABOUT THE AUTHOR – When I was in grade 2 and 3 I wrote short stories, illustrated them and created little books to give to my Mom. In one way or another, I’ve been doing the same ever since. I’ve been told that I write from a uniquely entertaining point of view. My fictional writing is usually filled with dark subject matter, twists and turns delivered with casual humour. I like the classic but unpredictable mystery with a little mysticism. All of my stories come from dreams I’ve had. They usually also end up being a tool to deal with some life issue I’m working through. I’m a writer and visual artist living in Ontario Canada.

Website | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

