7 Questions · Indie Authors · Interviews

7 Questions with Tabitha Thompson

Today on the FlipSide I have the pleasure of presenting an interview with author Tabitha Thompson. If you’re not yet familiar with Tabitha, let’s give her a moment to introduce herself…

CYMERA_20140819_130845[1]My name is Tabitha Thompson who resides in south Florida with a very loving family. I’m a devoted word nerd who has been writing horror stories for 7 years. By day I’m a college student who studies for computers and who’s a loyal employee for my day job but I churn out horror stories by night. In my life, many things have come and gone but writing was one of the few things that stuck around and became a great positive outlet since I can remember. Despite being very young and feeding off of different genres to figure out who I was, by the age of 16 I had found my calling in horror. Of course, none of my stories were good and were just plain embarrassing to read but I knew I could only get better if I continued. Ideas were never a huge issue for me as I would also get inspired by everyday people and no matter where I would be, my creative wheels would always turn.  After getting my feet wet with short stories published by Sirens Call Publications, it’s now given me the ultimate confidence to now aim higher with anthologies, novellas and possibly a novel by the end of the year which is still a work in progress.

Using ten words or less, tell me about your work.

West Nile is a story about mosquito bites gone wrong.

What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

I have a bunch! But one I would choose is Never Surrender by Straight Line Stitch. Being a personal fan of this band and song, I felt that it also I’m a huge fan of the band personally but it resonates with West Nile as to fighting the good fight in a time of crisis.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Interesting question. Being a huge fan of his I would get Ron Howard and I would get Nia Long to play me because she’s feisty, funny and awesome.

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I’m a pantser definitely. I always handwrite first and then go to Word processor for the final draft. Most times I’ll have fragments of a story that will suddenly pop up in my head then I’ll try to write them down as quickly as possible and then I’ll go from there. It sounds hippie-ish of me but my stories after that usually write themselves.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

I’d tell myself to be more of a risk taker when it comes to my creativity. Although I started writing horror stories when I was 16, I felt that I wasn’t confident enough to put my work out there until I was 20 and got published in Sirens Call Publication’s online horror magazine at 23. So now if I had the chance to go back I would tell myself to grab life by the balls and just go for it.

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

3 books that had a huge impact on me to write were The Chosen by Edward Lee, On Writing by Stephen King and Dark Lover by J.R. Ward. Even though writing has grabbed me by the chest from an early age and has never let me go during my teen years these authors helped shape my stories a lot better.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Both
  • Cats or dogs? Both
  • Snow or sun? Although I live in South Florida I’ve seen snow in other states and it’s nice but so not down for subzero weather.
  • Print books or eReader? Print
  • Nachos or potato chips? Potato Chips
  • Baked or fried? Fried
  • Candy or chocolate? chocolate girl’s best friend 🙂
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? All 3
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Action and animated
  • Classics or Modern? Both
  • Old World or New World? New World
  • Sweet or spicy? Sweet
  • Comfort or Speed? Both

Thank you Tabitha for taking the time to answer my questions. If you’d like to keep up with what Tabitha is doing, you can find her on Twitter, Facebook, her blog, or Tumblr.

And if you’d like to read Tabitha’s short story West Nile. You can download the 16th issue of The Sirens Call full of Apocalyptic fiction for FREE ! Just click on the cover!

2014_August_ezine_cover_FINAL

 

Leave a Reply

