Coffin Hop · Giveaway · Interviews

#CoffinHop2014: The Three Book Inspiration

So tell us: what are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Julianne Snow

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark – Alvin Schwartz

A Wrinkle in Time – Madeleine L’Engle

Coma – Robin Cook

Brent Abell

Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot

H.P. Lovecraft’s At the Mountains of Madness

Brian Keene’s Ghoul

Linda LaForge

Chrysalids by John Wyndham

Contact with Jodie Foster (still haven’t read the book!)

On Writing by Stephen King

James Garcia Jr.

The Amityville Horror caught my attention as a teen. Try reading that at night when you are the only one awake! I then met Michael Slade and his tour de force Headhunter showed me how good dark fiction could be. I then was coerced into reading Beach Music by the great Pat Conroy – which is far from being horror fiction. It just happens to be brilliant and near-perfect writing. That book taught me what a masterful writer could do to spin a tale. If I could write half as well as he does, I will go to my grave a happy man.

Alexander Ward

Great Untold Stories of Fantasy and Horror edited by Norton & Moskowitz. Tales of Mystery & Imagination by Edgar Allan Poe. Skeleton Crew by Stephen King.

A.F. Stewart

It’s more like two books and a short story for me. These three pieces of fiction, Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls, Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay (the two books) and All Summer in a Day by Ray Bradbury (the short story), showed me the emotional depths writing can achieve and what a powerful effect that can have on a reader. I think that lesson more than anything inspired me and shaped my writing.

Anne Michaud

L’Écume des jours, Boris Vian; Edgar Allan Poe’s complete poems collection; Vampire Lestat, Anne Rice.

Doug Rinaldi

Dean Koontz’s Phantoms, Richard Matheson’s I Am Legend, The Shadow Over Innsmouth by H.P. Lovecraft

Richard Shiver

That’s a tough one, I believe everything I’ve read has in one way or another inspired me to write. There was no one, two, or three books that pushed me to take up the pen. It was a gradual process that developed over time.

Don’t forget to catch up with the other Coffin Hoppers at CoffinHop.com!

***

Now let’s talk about this giveaway!

There are 9 authors featured during the Coffin Hop and they’ve agreed to provide digital copies of their works to random winners as determined by Rafflecopter!

So what could you win?

  • 9 winners will receive 1 of the titles featured in a digital format by random draw (each winner will receive a different title – some authors may throw in other titles as well if they’re feeling generous!) NOTE: Authors are responsible for sending out the prizes and will be given your email address.
  • 1 winner will receive a Print version of Glimpses of the Undead by Julianne Snow

Rafflecopter

 

One thought on “#CoffinHop2014: The Three Book Inspiration

Leave a Reply

