7 Questions

7 Questions with Jim Goforth

Today on the FlipSide, I have the pleasure of featuring an interview with horror writer Jim Goforth. If you’ve yet to come across Jim, here’s a little information to get everyone better acquainted…

IMG10722Jim Goforth is a horror author currently based in Holbrook, Australia. Happily married with two kids and a cat he has been writing tales of horror since the early nineties.

After years of detouring into working with the worldwide extreme metal community and writing reviews for hundreds of bands across the globe with Black Belle Music he has returned to his biggest writing love with first book Plebs published January 17 2014 by J. Ellington Ashton Press.

Two collaborations with a host of other authors are due out later this year and he will also be part on the heavy metal horror themed anthology Axes of Evil due out in April from Chupa Cabra House.

Welcome Jim! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Violent. Visceral. Thought-provoking. Fused with heavy metal. Dark. Punchy.

What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

It would have to be something in the vein of Monster Magnet, Tumbleweed or Kyuss, relatively laid back good time metal songs because at the start of the book things are rather carefree and light-hearted, and everyone is in high spirits (with an emphasis on ‘high’, hence the stoner metal sorts of bands that would tie in nicely). A lot of my writing incorporates use of extreme metal genres, but Plebs has references to things not quite as heavy such as Mushroomhead, Dope, Chain Collector, Rob Zombie and so on, so blasting my usual favourite choices of music probably wouldn’t fit in so well.

If it were the death metal undead novel I’m working on at the moment however… 😉

However I’ve always entertained the idea of having an epic track like Satyricon’s ‘In The Mist By The Hills’ opening up some film adaptation of one of my novels. It could well fit the bill for Plebs, it starts out reasonably calmly then all hell is unleashed, similar to the story itself.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Haha, good question, and not one I have ever considered. Somebody not typically Hollywood would be great in both instances.

I see you dodging the question Jim and I’ll let it slide… this time 😉 What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

My writing process is quite simple. When I have an idea I just sit down and start writing, trying to get as much out as possible in between everything else that goes on with my life on a day to day basis.

Originally I was a hand writer (my book Plebs was hand written in entirety, all 600 odd pages of it), but now I type directly onto my laptop in Word Documents. I also used to type stories in various email addresses and save the works as drafts.

When I’m not physically sitting down to write, but have a story or book going I occasionally craft things in my head while I’m doing other things, however in terms of planning, I am not a meticulous planner.

Very few of my works have ever been planned out from beginning to end, in most instances even I do not exactly know what is going to happen at the conclusion.

I almost always prefer to let my characters go and run into whatever trouble they can, see what sorts of mayhem can unfold.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Research which publishers to send manuscripts too. Back when I first tried to get a novel published there was no Facebook, no social media sites and things like that, no online databases of which publishers accept what, so consequently I was hitting random publishers with unsolicited manuscripts so of course success was not forthcoming there. Also, make more use of commas and not be so scant with them, but then again, the current version of myself needs to take that advice on-board too.

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

I would say it is more a case of specific authors inspiring me to write as I do, but for the purpose of the question I would list 1) Darkness, Tell Us by Richard Laymon, 2) Cabal by Clive Barker and either 3) Watchers by Dean Koontz or Walkers by Graham Masterton.

Richard Laymon is my greatest inspiration and influence in my writing, that particular book was the very first of his I ever read back in the early nineties, and I still have the very same copy I originally read.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Coffee
  • Cats or dogs? I like all animals, I have no partiality for either of these. I have a cat now, but always had dogs when I was growing up.
  • Snow or sun? I tend to like both winter and summer, though I guess I do have a preference for winter.
  • Print books or eReader? Print books without a doubt. There’s no substitute for holding the physical copy of a book, turning the pages with your own hands.
  • Nachos or potato chips? I love them both but probably eat more potato chips than nachos.
  • Baked or fried? A difficult one. If we’re talking baked goods like cakes and that sort of thing, I’ll go with baked.
  • Candy or chocolate? All the above. Can’t split them. I’m notorious for indulging in a lot of types of both these.
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? I don’t mind the odd comedy now and then for a change of pace, but I have, and always will a horror aficionado, both in terms of movies and books.
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Can’t really get into sci fi, and there are minimal animated things that do much for me.
  • Classics or Modern? That depends on what area we’re referring to. Films, music, art, whatever it may be, I like a wide mix of both
  • Old World or New World?
  • Sweet or spicy? I have an incredible sweet tooth, yet I’m also very fond of spicy things, the hotter the better.
  • Comfort or Speed? Speed

Thank you Jim for taking the time to answer my questions! If you’d like to connect with Jim, you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, his Amazon Author Page, and his blog.

Now let’s take a look at Plebs… Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you straight to Amazon!

Plebs coverCorey Somerset, Tim Hayworth and Lee Hunter have had one hell of a good night.

And it isn’t over yet.

Celebrating their friend’s birthday with drunken debauchery and intoxicated antics they’ve just stumbled through a mini-wave of mindless vandalism and though they’ve wandered far out of the realms of civilization they are keen to keep the party vibe going.

When they encounter a band of mysterious fugitive women who call a bizarre encampment deep in the woods their residence it appears a strong likelihood that continuing the party is on the cards.

But it won’t come without a price.

The collective of unnerving lawless women are open to the suggestion but not without the threesome completing a request first, a seemingly straight forward barter proposition that will bring the boys face to face with something else that dwells in an unorthodox co-existence with the girls in the wilderness.

These are the Plebs and the shocking violent encounter the trio are unwittingly pitched into with these freakish feral fiends may be their first but it won’t be the last.

As the shiftless young men become inextricably entwined and involved with the agenda driven dangerous women so too do their fates, with them unravelling killer secrets, duplicity, bloodshed and brutality along the way that encompasses not just them but more of their friends, new enemies and old enemies.

A simple night of bad decisions escalates and snowballs into an expedition of terror spanning all the way home and beyond with Corey and his friends engulfed in a nightmare where the lines between man and monster blur.

Depravity, death and destruction reign supreme and it isn’t just the Plebs that want them all torn limb from limb.

Leave a Reply

