7 Questions

7 Questions with Michael Robertson

Today on the FlipSide I have the pleasure of featuring an interview with author Michael Robertson. For those of you not quite acquainted with Michael, let’s take a moment to get to know him…

470365_216438441825908_1453459540_oMy name is Michael Robertson and I have been writing for about twelve years now. My life as a writer started when I had aspirations to be a drum and bass MC in my late teenage years. It was embarrassing, I was rubbish, and I gave it up very quickly. However, what stayed with me was the writing. I wrote lyrics that I turned into poems. I had several of them published but had to accept, when my poems started spanning pages, that longer stories were waiting to come out.

Ideas have never been a problem for me. At present, I have at least fifteen fully formed novels and novellas queuing up in my head. More are knocking on the door all the time. However, a misspent youth meant that I’d had a poor education and I needed to learn how to write. Over a period of over ten years, I’ve tried to write most days. I have several process novels sat in a desk drawer. None of them are suitable for release.

Winning a competition to have a short story published in a special edition of The Jerusalem Puzzle by Laurence O’Bryan gave me the final push that I needed to put Crash out in the world. Having HarperCollins accept my story gave me the confidence to put my work out there. Having a little boy has also given me the push that I needed to follow my dreams and give him a dad to be proud of.

Welcome Michael. Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Crash is a story about money failing and society collapsing.

Sounds interesting. What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Lamb – Till the Clouds Clear – I love the lyrics of this song and the build up. It goes from calm and tranquil to insanity. Although Crash doesn’t have the calm, it certainly has the insanity. (Crash is very dark – darker than my normal writing and has offended some people) – I just wanted to put that warning out there.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Sean Penn to direct it. Johnny Depp’s pretty cool. He’ll do as the actor!

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

Planner. Without question. I write beats – often as random ideas for each chapter – I then try to organise them into handwritten notes and write the chapter from there on my Mac. The story often strays from the plan, but I plan every time.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

While it’s nice if they do, you don’t need anyone else to believe in you.

That’s great advice! What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Trainspotting by Irvine Welsh. The Road by Cormac McCarthy. The Sandman by Neil Gaiman.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? – Tea
  • Cats or dogs? – Dogs
  • Snow or sun? – Sun
  • Print books or eReader? – eReader (unless it’s comics)
  • Nachos or potato chips? – Potato Chips
  • Baked or fried? – Baked
  • Candy or chocolate? – Chocolate
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? – Horror
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? – Animated Sci-Fi?
  • Classics or Modern? – Modern
  • Old World or New World? – New World
  • Sweet or spicy? – Spicy
  • Comfort or Speed? – Comfort

Thank you for answering my questions Michael! If you’d like to connect with Michael, you can find him on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, or his website.

Now let’s take a look at Crash… Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

Crash Final Cover - Resize 2mbChris’ life of luxury is gone, devastated by the collapse of the European economy. Gas, water, and electricity are all cut off. Food is running out. Even his wife and daughter have gone. Huddled in the smallest room of their lavish house with his petrified and dirty eight-year-old son, Chris has made the decision to stay put. A small army of psychotic scavengers is outside, hell-bent on making the once-privileged pay. Chris now knows that not leaving when he had the option was the worst decision of his life.

Cowering in his home, he watches as his neighbours are dragged into the street and brutally executed. The scavengers have one more house to go, and then it will be his turn. He has to act fast, or he and his son will meet the same fate.

Driven by the need to survive, Chris has decided to keep secrets from his son. Secrets that will make all of the events up until this point seem trivial. Secrets that, one way or another, will come out before the day is done.

*** Warning – This is a horror book and contains scenes that may be upsetting for some readers. ***

One thought on “7 Questions with Michael Robertson

Leave a Reply

