7 Questions

7 Questions with Natasha Ewendt

Today on the FlipSide I have the pleasure of featuring an interview with author Natasha Ewendt. For those of you not quite acquainted with Natasha, let’s take a moment to get to know her a little better…

me headshotNatasha Ewendt is a lifelong word obsessive who has been writing crazy fiction since she could hold a pen. She works as a journalist at the Port Lincoln Times newspaper and also runs Port Lincoln Copywriting Services. After dabbling in literary pursuits with a self-published children’s book Dragontide and various short stories in publications such as Woman’s Day, she penned her first novel, paranormal horror This Freshest Hell. Often (rather rightfully) compared to Daria of the eponymous animation, she is reluctantly addicted to coffee and The Walking Dead.

Welcome Natasha! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Two misfits, one spell, and the bloodiest of consequences …

Sounds very interesting! What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Ooh, great question. Either “Closer” by Kings of Leon, “Dead Souls” by Nine Inch Nails or “Vampires Will Never Hurt You” by My Chemical Romance.

I love ‘Closer’ by KOL! Great choice! Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Gosh, now you’re making me think. One of my favourite filmmakers is Sofia Coppola so she could perhaps be a contender. As for someone playing me, clearly it would have to be a supermodel of some kind… 😉

Definitely a supermodel! What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I both handwrite and type, and unfortunately, I’m a pantser by far. I get an idea and then strap myself in for the ride – I write whatever ‘bits’ come to mind and whatever I’m inspired to write, and of course, neither ever happens in sequence. So I end up with bits and pieces everywhere and I tie them all up later in a rather messy, shambolic fashion, then edit profusely until the seams are ironed out.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

I’d tell myself to stop putting off my writing career. My first ambition at 3 or 4 was to be an author. Over the years I got waylaid with school, social life and work, and didn’t get around to even sending off one of my stories for publication until I was 22. That story was published in Woman’s Day, a major Australian magazine, but I still didn’t get around to doing much else writing-wise until I had the idea for my novel This Freshest Hell in 2007. When it didn’t get picked up immediately, I put in on the backburner for a few years with the usual claim, “I just don’t have the time”. Now I’m glad I finally made the time and if I could go back, I’d slap myself upside the head and tell myself to get cracking – time waits for no one.

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

The three books that had the biggest impact on me were 1984 by George Orwell, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde and Contact by Carl Sagan. I wouldn’t say they were the books that inspired me to write, as writing was a compulsion from a very early age, but those books inspired me to write better.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Coffee
  • Cats or dogs? Cats
  • Snow or sun? Living in sunny Australia I’ve never seen snow, so I’d have to say sun.
  • Print books or eReader? Print
  • Nachos or potato chips? Nachos
  • Baked or fried? Baked
  • Candy or chocolate? Chocolate
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Sci-fi
  • Classics or Modern? Classic
  • Old World or New World? Old world
  • Sweet or spicy? Both!
  • Comfort or Speed? Comfort

Thank you Natasha! If you’d like to connect with Natasha, you can find her on Twitter, Facebook (Personal Page and Fan Page for This Freshest Hell), and Google+.

Now let’s take a look at Natasha’s novel This Freshest Hell… Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you straight to Amazon!

CoverWhen the new goth girl in town Maggie befriends town misfit Lily, they discover more in common than their taste in alternative music: a disdain for the “popular” and “normal”, psychic abilities, and the same dark secret.

United in their struggle against society’s rules, Lily frequently wishes for death while Maggie wants a better kind of existence — and revenge.

When a dark spell performed in teenage despair is invoked years later, they are plunged into the demon world, a world that has its own rules, family bonds, and mortal enemies they never even knew existed.

Suddenly the darkness within, the victim’s desire for power over aggressors, and blood lust become literal matters of life and death. Lily and Maggie are forced to question what they really value — including each other.

One thought on “7 Questions with Natasha Ewendt

Leave a Reply

