7 Questions

7 Questions with C.S. Kane

Today on the FlipSide I have the pleasure of presenting an interview with author C.S. Kane. If you’re not quite acquainted with C.S. yet, here’s a little more about her…

IMG_3772C.S. Kane is the author of SHATTERED. Her debut horror novella has been published by DarkFuse. She lives in a village just outside Belfast, Northern Ireland. With a passion for the paranormal and a desire for all things dark Kane also contributes features to DarkMedia Online. Kane loves old movies, good food, the odd tipple and spending time with both her sinful soulmate and their faithful minion, Dexter.

Welcome C.S.! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Shattered is a modern take on the haunted house tale.

What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Wow, great question. It would probably have to be the Pixies, Where is My Mind? This is the question the protagonist constantly asks throughout the story. I think the prospect of losing your mind is the most frightening things anyone can face. Radiohead’s Paranoid Android could possibly be another contender.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Ooh, I’d love to say Spielberg because some of his movies look like they’d have been great fun to work on. In terms of the story of my life though it’d probably have to pick Martin Scorsese. I like the drama he creates. He could try to make my life look a little more exciting.

I haven’t really thought about who would ever play me in a movie. I’d probably like someone like Jennifer Lawrence because she appears to be really dedicated to what she does and seems to have a great down-to-earth attitude.

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

My writing process is evolving all the time. I started out just winging it. Now I’m trying to be a little more structured. I’d like to get more done so I’m getting organised. I use the laptop. Generally I just do a rough outline then write flat out. Finally, I go back and try to decipher what the heck I meant to say during my fevered typing sessions. It can be tricky because if I’m fatigued or going too fast I can leave the ends off words or write the wrong words completely. At the moment I am trying to train myself to self-edit as I go along but really the most important thing is getting the words down.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Don’t worry so much.

What are the 3 (three) books that really inspired you to become a writer?

1984 – George Orwell

Tales of Mystery and Imagination – Edgar Allan Poe

Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Tea
  • Cats or dogs? Dogs
  • Snow or sun? Snow
  • Print books or eReader? Print
  • Nachos or potato chips? Nachos
  • Baked or fried? Fried
  • Candy or chocolate? Chocolate
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Action
  • Classics or Modern? Classics
  • Old World or New World? Old World
  • Sweet or spicy? Spicy
  • Comfort or Speed? Comfort

Thank you C.S.! If you’d like to connect with C.S., you can find her on Twitter, her website, and Facebook.

Now let’s take a look at Shattered… Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you straight to Amazon!

shattered-1Stacey’s fiance Liam has just landed a new job in the city, and the young couple is forced to move into a low-budget flat in a seedy neighborhood. It’s not the the dream house they imagined, but it’s well within their price range and a short distance from Stacey’s graduate school.

Soon after they move in, however, Stacey begins to experience terrible nightmares, vivid hallucinations, cold spells, and frequent panic attacks. As she spirals deeper and deeper into what appears to be a physical and mental breakdown, putting her university career and relationship in jeopardy, she befriends the reclusive old woman next door who tells her chilling stories of the house’s former occupants.

Is Stacey going mad or is the dark history of Claremont Street something that can’t and won’t be be ignored?

Leave a Reply

