7 Questions

7 Questions with Tracie McBride

Today on the FlipSide I’m pleased to feature an interview with author Tracie McBride. For those of you not quite acquainted with Tracie yet, let’s take a moment to get to know her…

profile 2013 colourTracie McBride is a New Zealander who lives in Melbourne, Australia with her husband and three children. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in over 80 print and electronic publications, including Horror Library Vols 4 and 5, FISH anthology and the Stoker Award-nominated Horror for Good. Her debut collection Ghosts Can Bleed contains much of the work that earned her a Sir Julius Vogel Award in 2008. She helps to wrangle slush for Dark Moon Digest and is the vice president of Dark Continents Publishing. Visitors to her blog are welcome at http://traciemcbridewriter.wordpress.com/.

Welcome Tracie! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Speculative fiction short stories in varying shades of black.

Sounds interesting! What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

“Happy Phantom” by Tori Amos. As one internet commenter observes, “It’s just a light little song about death.”

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Ooh, Peter Jackson (that’s Sir Peter Jackson to you), because he’s the greatest director ever to come from my homeland New Zealand. He’d probably have to spend a lot of time in Tracieland (inside my head), a la Beautiful Creatures, because my real life is rather ordinary. I’d like one of my daughters to play me, because of the physical resemblance and because they’re both aspiring actresses (they’d have to do Rock, Paper, Scissors to see who got the job).

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I like to sketch a rough outline before I go in – experience has taught me that if I try to pants right from the get go, I’ll end up writing myself into a corner with little hope of producing a satisfying ending. I like to hand write my plan and type the first draft, mainly because I tend to edit as I go.

Sounds similar to how I operate some of the time. What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Start sooner. Don’t wait until you’re mid-thirties to fulfil that childhood promise to yourself of becoming a writer.

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Only 3? OK. If I have to narrow it right down, I’d have to go back to my childhood.

One of the first books I can remember reading was “The Trouble With Jack” by Shirley Hughes. I identified very closely with the poor, put-upon Nancy, and every time I read it, I nearly cried with the cruel injustice of it all. To move another reader to tears…yeah, I wanted to be able to do that. Another childhood favourite was “The Phantom Tollbooth” by Norton Juster. The cleverness, the inventiveness, the surrealism of it…I wanted to do that too. And then there was “The Hobbit”, which was the gateway drug to every fantasy novel I ever read from that date on.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Tea
  • Cats or dogs? Dogs
  • Snow or sun? Sun
  • Print books or eReader? eReader
  • Nachos or potato chips? Potato chips
  • Baked or fried? I know I should say baked, but I’m gonna say fried.
  • Candy or chocolate? Chocolate
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror if I’m reading it, comedy if I’m watching it
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Science Fiction
  • Classics or Modern? Modern
  • Old World or New World? New World
  • Sweet or spicy? Spicy if I’m hungry, sweet if I’m tired.
  • Comfort or Speed? Comfort

Thank you Tracie! If you’d like to keep up with Tracie, you can find out more information about her on her blog.

Now let’s take a look at Ghosts Can Bleed… And don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you straight to Amazon!

GhostscanBleed4TracieAlien landscapes and mythic societies…creatures of the night and the more terrifying monsters of the human psyche… Be warned: Ghosts Can Bleed… but it’s not just the blood you should be worried about…

Last Chance To See – what if you had a chance to attend your own funeral? A reincarnation facility offers this opportunity, but you won’t be quite as your family remembered…

House Arrest – Angela misses the social event of the year when she realises that there’s no place like home- and no dietary aid in the world like it, dahlings!

Killing A Goddess – The Goddess demands a sacrifice, and Laura is a willing volunteer. It is a great honour for the five young men chosen to assist in the ritual. But do they really know what they are letting themselves in for?

Ghosts Can Bleed – Maurice knows, because he is one.

DreamCatcher – will prevent bad dreams coming through to you. But what do you do with the nightmares that are caught in it? What if you could return them to their owners?

Rush Hour – Virgil retreads Dante’s Inferno, twenty-first century style. Wasps, tornadoes and dirty nappies block his path – and that’s before the motorway…

Marked – being scarred by lightning is like being touched by the hand of God. This divine spark is essential, because only the Marked can see the creatures that hunger for us…

Blue Screen of Death – Sara’s dead. Again. With Heaven’s computer system failing, and God on holiday, it’ll take a genius hacker to fix it. Problem is, he’s not on Heaven’s database…

Diagnosis – all aspects of human health can be scientifically measured, analysed and assessed. But there’s one measure Dr Chad has neglected to notice…

By turns terrifying, darkly comic, surreal and stomach-churning, these forty one stories and poems from award-winning author Tracie McBride open the veins of the world to show humanity in a different – and much darker – light.

Leave a Reply

