7 Questions

7 Questions with Dean Drinkel

Today on the FlipSide, I’m featuring an interview with Dean Drinkel. If you’ve yet to become acquainted with Dean, here’s a little information about him…

deanmonaco1Dean M Drinkel: award winning writer, poet, scriptwriter; award nominated short film director; playwright / director.

Welcome Dean! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Horror, nasty, gratuitous, complex, manic, Paris, clever, terrifying, metaphysical, inspired.

What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Coincidentally I’ve been working on a script based on one of my stories very recently. There is a great track by Moby called ‘Stella Maris’ which would be bloody perfect.  In 2012 I won a screenplay award for a script I wrote called ‘Bright Yellow Gun’ which was inspired by a Throwing Muses song of the same name. I promised Kristin (lead singer, songwriter of the band) that if the film ever got made then we just had to use the song – she’s up for it.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

If I couldn’t do it myself (I have experience!) than, it would be either the French director Christophe Ruggia or the Belgian director Stephan Streker. I suppose I wouldn’t mind David Lynch either. To play me, whilst they look nothing like – Leonardo Dicaprio, Dane DeHaan or a very talented French actor, Vincent Rottiers – in fact, how about a number of different actors playing me at different times of my life – yeah, I like that idea. There are perhaps two British comedians that could have a good go too – Ricky Gervais or Vic Reeves.

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I like this question because in all honesty it depends what I’m writing. If it’s a script I love just hitting the keys and letting my fingers do the talking, if it’s a short story then I tend to do the first couple of drafts handwritten and then onto the laptop. The creative process is really different I find depending on what you’re writing, I tend to ‘think at different speeds’ if I’m using the pen or the keyboard.

For me, what I always need is a title and then I can go from there. If I don’t have a title then I’ll just stare at the blank screen / paper and procrastinate. Give me that title and I’m gone…sometimes of course, I get inspired by a phrase or a person and that can take me down a creative path but it always comes back to the title.  Of course, if the title changes during the working process then I can find myself in all kinds of trouble ha ha.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Ha I have these discussions quite a lot, especially as I get older. I’ve got a good friend who has lots of ‘creativity’ but perhaps doesn’t know how to express it or get it out of his system. We’re working on something together as we speak which HOPEFULLY will see the light of day later this year. My advice is simple: write, write, write; never be ashamed of what you do and do all you can to do what you love. I went to University and after graduation a whole load of us stayed together and we ended up getting ’9 – 5’ jobs and joined the rat-race – shouldn’t have done that: as soon as graduation came, I should have packed my bags, gone back to the family house, locked my bedroom door and just got on with it.  There’s a great scene in Leonardo’s Total Eclipse, where he played the poet Rimbaud. His lover, Verlaine, rents him this crummy room in a loft in the middle of Paris. It was a shit-hole BUT it has a desk and Rimbaud is happy. He ushers Verlaine out of the room, he takes out his pen and paper and off he goes – happy as a pig in mud!

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Clive Barker’s Books Of Blood; Brett Easton Ellis American Psycho; John Fowles The Magus.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? Tea – Early Grey
  • Cats or dogs? Cats – just
  • Snow or sun? Sun
  • Print books or eReader? Print every time
  • Nachos or potato chips? Nachos
  • Baked or fried? Baked
  • Candy or chocolate? Candy
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Science-Fiction
  • Classics or Modern? Classics
  • Old World or New World? Old World
  • Sweet or spicy? Spicy
  • Comfort or Speed? Comfort

Thank you Dean for taking the time to answer my questions. If you would like to connect with Dean, you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, his website or his blog.

Now let’s take a look at the anthology Dean recently edited The Bestiarum Vocabulum (TRES LIBORUM PROHIBITORUM)…Clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!beast frontA catalog of mythic beasts and demons that were summoned by esoteric means. Once owned by Count Allesandro Di Cagliostro, it was thought forever lost in a fire at the Chateau de Versailles. Two hundred years later, twenty-six modern day masters of the macabre bring The Bestiarum Vocabulum back from the ashes. Authors include: Emile-Louis Tomas Jouvet, Jan Edwards, Martin Roberts, Lisa Jenkins, Peter Mark May, Raven Dane, Joe Mynhardt, Rakie Keig, D.T. Griffith, Mark West, John Palisano, Amelia Mangan, Robert Walker, Christine Dougherty, Tim Dry, Nerine Dorman, Dean M. Drinkel, Christine Morgan, Tej Turner, D.M. Youngquist, Jason D. Brawn, Lily Childs, Andy Taylor, Sandra Norval, Adrian Chamberlin, and Barbie Wilde.

Leave a Reply

