7 Questions

7 Questions with Jay Wilburn

Today on The Flipside, I feature an interview with Jay Wilburn, author of many things including Time Eaters. Let’s take a moment to get to know him a little better…

meJay Wilburn lives with his wife and two sons in the swamps of coastal South Carolina. He left teaching after sixteen years to care for the health needs of his younger son and to pursue writing full time. He has published a number of works including the novel Loose Ends: A Zombie Novel and Time Eaters. He has a zombie story in Best Horror of the Year volume 5. Jay is one of the featured authors in the Dark and Bookish documentary project.

Welcome Jay! Now it’s time for the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Time traveling cannibals really ruin your plans.

What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

I Am the Cosmos” by Chris Bell  … It has that weird, timeless sound and it encapsulates the futility of trying to encapsulate the entire universe.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

My life? Well, Bryan Ekardt of Wayward Son Productions is filming the documentary Dark and Bookish that is following me a few other authors including Max Booth III, Jessica McHugh, Adam Millard, Derek Deremer, and more.

Maybe Kevin Smith could direct the fictionalized version. Playing me … Danny Trejo or Babette Bombshell.

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I outline longer pieces and keep extensive notes on characters and story details in notebooks as I’m writing. I usually go off outline fairly quickly. I keep detailed notes on characters from physical traits to behaviours to quirks to anything else that comes up as the story goes. I think life can be chaotic, but it has themes because people create patterns.

I always type directly to the laptop as I write the story. I never want to do a job twice. I’ll edit a hundred times, but I draft for a finish line.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Oh, I wrote a whole novel about how trying to do this destroys the universe. I would be floored with fear if I knew a fraction of what I’ve been through before it happened. “Write a zombie novel in the early 90’s. Don’t even worry about it being good.”

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

The Stand

The Hobbit

The Revelation of John

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

    • Coffee or tea? – Tea: cold, sweet, and continuous
    • Cats or dogs? – neither. Animals are for eating
    • Snow or sun? – Sun
    • Print books or eReader? – I’ll take money from both and read both, but I love print book in hand.
    • Nachos or potato chips? – I refuse to chose. This is America and I want both
    • Baked or fried? – I want to believe baked, but it is probably fried
    • Candy or chocolate? – candy
    • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? – Horror for movie and book; comedy for TV
    • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? – Sci fi
    • Classics or Modern? – I love both, but I guess classics in most things
    • Old World or New World? – I’m not good with change, but can’t give up the New World comforts.
    • Sweet or spicy? – sweet
    • Comfort or Speed? – Comfort

Thank you Jay for taking the time to answer my questions. If you’d like to connect with Jay you can find him on Twitter, Facebook, his Amazon Author Page and his website.

Now let’s take a quick look at Time Eaters… Clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

te cover 2Following his father’s suicide, Al and his best friend, Nick, devote their lives to building a time machine. When future versions of themselves begin popping up, they find it safe in concluding they’ve succeeded. However, when an endless army of time-traveling cannibals make an entrance, all the Als and Nicks of the myriad of timelines in the universe must do everything they can to reverse the apocalypse they may have accidentally started.

Leave a Reply

