7 Questions

7 Questions with D. Alexander Ward

Today I have the pleasure of featuring an interview with author D. Alexander Ward. For those of you unfamiliar with D, let’s take a moment to get to know him better…

DAWARD-IS-AMUSEDD. Alexander Ward lives with his wife and daughter in Virginia on the farmland where he grew up and where his love for the people, passions and legends of the South was nurtured. There he spends his nights and weekends penning stories of the dark, strange and fantastic.

His stories have appeared in numerous anthologies and his novella, After the Fire and story collection, A Feast of Buzzards are available in both print and electronic editions from Dark Hall Press and Hazardous Press.

Welcome D! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Spooky and terrible happenings test the characters’ humanity. Who wins?

I like that you made it into a question! What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

“Devil Is On His Way” by Joe Buck Yourself. It has an ominous feel with a little edge to it, which I think lines up well with the stories inside.

Great choice! Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Oliver Stone would direct, with fevered, trippy visuals like in The Doors and Natural Born Killers. Starring anyone who could make it through the screenplay without dying of boredom.

LMAO! What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I’ve never been pantsed while writing if that’s what you mean. No? Well, then I’d have to be a planner, I guess. I start out very loose, playing with an idea to see if I like the tone, if the story or book is going somewhere, if it hooks me. Once it does, I begin a moderately detailed outline and then fill in and update it as I write and as I change things. Usually peppered with a lot of research because I don’t completely believe in “write what you know.” And I type, mostly because my brain spews faster than my fingers can write legibly.

Are you sure you’ve never been pantsed?? What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Knock it off and keep writing stories, dummy.

What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

As a kid, I was more inspired by stories than whole books. Stephen King’s Skeleton Crew, Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart” and W.W. Jacobs’s “The Monkey’s Paw” all hit me pretty hard in junior and high school.

As a hopelessly immature adult, some of the books that have inspired me and affected my style are Stephen King’s novella, 1922, Christopher Buehlman’s Those Across the River and Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

    • Coffee or tea? Tea.
    • Cats or dogs? Dogs.
    • Snow or sun? Both.
    • Print books or eReader? eReader. Mostly.
    • Nachos or potato chips? Nachos.
    • Baked or fried? Blasphemy! Fried!
    • Candy or chocolate? Chocolate.
    • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror.
    • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Action.
    • Classics or Modern? Classics.
    • Old World or New World? Bit of both, I reckon.
    • Sweet or spicy? Spicy!
    • Comfort or Speed? Comfort

Thank you D for taking the time to answer my questions!

If you’d like to connect with D, you can find him on Facebook, Twitter, Amazon, and his website.

Now let’s take a quick look at A Feast of Buzzards… Don’t forget to click on the cover to be taken to Amazon!

daw-buzzards-coverTake a journey through a twisted version of the American South with these stories by author D. Alexander Ward as he draws back the curtain on a world where isolation, faith and transformation all play a part in the struggle between light and dark—and the battles that rage within us all.

• The ghost of a young boy’s father helps him discover the hero within as he strives to rescue his mother, abducted during a drug deal gone bad.
• During a trip across Mississippi, a man listens as a voice on the radio inflames his worst fears about his wife and child, and drives him toward the edge of madness and an unthinkable act.
• A young man and his father on a hunting expedition are pursued by the spirit of his grandfather, whose cruelty only seems to have worsened in death.

It’s the sound of duct tape stretching across a mouth to muffle screams. It’s a rusty pickup truck idling in the dark. It’s a lonely back road through trailer parks and empty fields.

This is A Feast of Buzzards…

One thought on “7 Questions with D. Alexander Ward

  1. Hey. Thanks for sharing. I raced right over once I saw who you were hosting. I just recently read “After the Fire” and came away very impressed with the work. I was very pleased with the ending. I’d be very curious to check out more. I’ll have to check out “A Feast of Buzzards.”
    You guys have a great week!

    -Jimmy

Leave a Reply

