A Monday for Anything · Book Tour

A Second Monday for Anything: Guest Post with L.T. Getty

Today I have the wonderful pleasure of presenting a guest post by L.T. Getty, author of Tower of Obsidian. But before we get to that, let’s take a few moments and get everyone acquainted…

LT-Getty-PicL.T. Getty started writing her first novel in junior high, and hasn’t really stopped since. She’s studied kendo, is an open water scuba diver, and has recently taken up archery, and hopes to learn to do it horseback someday. When she’s not writing, she works as a paramedic. When she is writing, it tends to be rather cheeky.

Amazon Author Page | Facebook | GoodReads | Blog

So without too much further ado, here’s L.T. and her thoughts on what she’d like readers to take away from her book Tower of Obsidian!

To me, since Tower of Obsidian is about interpretation of story and I played around with roles of hero and villain, I can’t answer that everyone will walk away with the same message because I left a lot of the story up to interpretation. That being said, there were numerous themes that I explored, and that the main theme of the story is about hope.

Hope for me, is about the belief that things beyond us will improve. This goes beyond “I work for it, therefore it will pay off” – to me, this is an exchange or reward. Hope is like my concept of Grace, in that it’s transcendent in value – hope as a belief that there is something greater than us, and that things like justice and mercy will play out in the end rather than cosmic indifference.

Tower of Obsidian‘s story is meant to be familiar enough that most people can recognize very familiar elements – dragons, witches, knights, tall towers, and a love triangle. I go out of my way to subvert the roles and I think in a way, it’s upsetting for some readers, despite my disclaimer of a prologue. I will acknowledge here that if I was just about to tell something for the sake of pure entertainment, I would have told a much more straightforward story with designated roles. It probably would also have been much more slapstick or be raunchy, but I’m getting off-topic.

I explored hope as a theme, and that includes some very dark places and concepts we don’t really like to acknowledge as a society. It’s always external that the issue and fault lies. The reason I used the end of the Viking Era was because it represented the dying away of the old age where beliefs started to get unified, but it was easy to use unenlightened historical figures where we know there are strict rules regarding not only gender and race, but class as well, and judge them according to our standards. I notice a lot of fear mongering as we build our viewpoints up and we create dichotomies. We all say we hate bullies, but we’ll use bully-like behavior for our own causes. The ends justify the means. In reality, this is sometimes unavoidable – we need violence and it can solve the seemingly direct problem, but it doesn’t solve it at its core. In reality, I can hope that people will do the right thing all the time, but I know I don’t live up to that standard myself all the time. In fantasy, I can have agape and self-sacrifice as the catalyst that changes the world.

I don’t know if I’m a good enough writer to convey the theme properly – I’m sure you could read Tower of Obsidian and come back to me with a far different interpretation of the story. But I do hope that you try to read the story for some greater message then just about a tale of knights and towers.

Thank you L.T.! Now let’s take a look at Tower of Obsidian and keep in mind that clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

Tower-of-ObsidianWhen Kale mac Tadhg is betrayed by his Lord’s men, he is sent on an impossible quest: slay a witch in a tower, and end a people’s curse. Both Kale’s best friend and brother-in-arms Aaron Smithson and former betrothed Aoife of Westgate set out to rescue him, but their journey takes them into the uncharted waters and Northwestern Nordic colonies, to a land cursed and all but forgotten. They begin to realize that there is some truth to old legends. Kale’s rescue comes at a price—for by the time Aaron and Aoife know where to search, like so many before him, Kale is bound to the ancient tower’s fate.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | GoodReads

And now there’s a giveaway!! It’s tour-wide but who doesn’t want to win stuff??

Prizes include the following:

GRAND PRIZE: One winner will receive 5 surprise fantasy eBooks from Champagne Book Group.

Giveaway is International.

Win 5 surprise fantasy eBooks from Champagne Book Group!

Fantasy-Banner-2

Leave a Reply

