A Monday for Anything

A Monday for Anything: My Writing Process

My Writing Process… A Look On The Inside!

The lovely Shah Wharton tagged me in a pyramid scheme. No it’s not what you think – it’s a blog hop that builds on adding other writers to share what they’re up to. Thinking I had nothing to lose, I accepted her challenge. You can check out what Shah’s working on these days by visiting her post here.

So what’s going on with me? Let me answer the 4 requisite questions and maybe something coherent will pop out the other end!

What am I working on?

I think the better question would be what am I not working on!! I have taken a larger look at Days with the Undead: Book Two and Book Three, deciding to explore a few aspects I think would give it a little more depth in certain regards which has resulted in the delay of their release. The story itself is written, it’s just weaving the rest into it to make it extra special. In addition to those, I have a novella in the works dealing with psychosis and its aftereffects. I’m hoping it turns out to be a crazy little horror thriller that makes people keep the lights on at night.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

The main reason is that it’s written by me. My Days with the Undead series is written completely as a series of journal entries so it’s heavy of the narrative, but in a dialogue type of way. Sure the main character might be telling you the story, but she’s doing it in such a way that she’s talking directly to you. It’s hard to get that out of your head when you want to go to sleep.

Why do I write what I do?

I write what interests me and ultimately, what makes me happy. I like to think I’m writing the books I myself want to read, but that’s a little odd considering I wrote them.

How does my writing process work?

Sometimes I plan things to a certain degree, but in others I’m purely freeform, letting the story take me where it wants to take me. Sometimes I get to the end and it’s where I wanted to be, other times I’m way off base but like where I’ve gone. I never know until I’m done and that’s half the fun!

Part of the fun with this pyramid scheme was that I got to ask three other authors to continue carrying the torch after me. I chose them at random and then strung them up by their toes until the acquiesced to my demands. I make it sound more difficult than it was, but I write fiction so I need to make this interesting… Next Monday my victims will be posting about their writing process. Get to know them now:

Brent Abell

Brent Abell resides in Southern Indiana with his wife, sons, and a pug who is a descendant of the Elder Gods.  He has been published in multiple anthologies and eZines, took part in the collaborative novella, The Carnival 13, and has completed his first full novel.  He is currently working on his next novel and novella.  You can hang out with him for some rum, a cigar, and all the latest news at http://brentabell.wordpress.com

D. Alexander Ward

D. Alexander Ward lives with his wife and daughter in the Virginia countryside near the city of Richmond, where his love for the people, passions, and legends of the south was nurtured. While he works a straight job by day, he spends his nights and weekends penning stories of the dark, strange and fantastic.

D. Alexander Ward’s short fiction has appeared in several anthologies including Deadlines, Noxious Fragments, A Quick Bite of Flesh, Horrific History, Shifters: A Charity Anthology, Attack! of the B-Movie Monsters: Night of the Gigantis, The Midnight Diner 4: Wastelands Under the Sun, and O’ Little Town of Deathlehem.

His novella, After the Fire is available from Dark Hall Press and his story collection, A Feast of Buzzards is available from Hazardous Press. Both may be purchased on Amazon in paperback and Kindle editions. You can catch up with D on his website: http://www.wyrdtales.net/

Kirk Jones

Kirk Jones is an instructor for the State University of New York. His work has appeared in Bellows of the Bone Box from Siren’s Call Publications, Amazing Stories of the Flying Spaghetti Monster from Lazy Fascist Press, and on Bizarro Central. His latest novella, Journey to Abortosphere, was just released by Rooster Republic Press. It is a book about romance, animism, the absurdity of the human condition… and butts. OK, mostly butts. You can find him on his website: http://bizarrojones.com/

If you’d like to take a look at Days with the Undead: Book One is preparation for what’s coming soon, here’s a little more information…

DwtUCoverFront copyIt’s a journal of survival.

Five people set out to escape the Undead who have risen too close to home. Join the emotional and physical struggle as they began on the third day after the awakening of Brooks VanReit, as they are recorded from the point of view of Julie, a former pathologist and part-time survivalist.

Each entry is geared toward helping those who want to help themselves and maybe give a few that don’t a swift kick in the ass. Join our group of survivors on their journey through these Days with the Undead.

It’s currently available on:

Amazon

CreateSpace

Smashwords (Kindle, Kobo, Nook, Sony)

Barnes & Noble

Kobo

Apple

 

One thought on “A Monday for Anything: My Writing Process

Leave a Reply

