7 Questions

7 Questions with Cindy Lyle

Today I have the pleasure of featuring an author whom I went to high school with. Her name is Cindy Lyle and since I already know a little bit about her, I’m going to give her the opportunity to tell you all a little bit about herself…

1000000400000019700bI was born and raised in a small community named Uxbridge. I still live in Ontario, Canada but now I’m further away from my country roots. I miss living on the horse farm where I grew up. It was always so quiet and peaceful and it allowed my imagination to flourish. Mind you my imagination is still as powerful as ever but sometimes living in a city, it takes time to coax it out. I grew up loving fantasy especially dragons and I love writing about them. I love how writing fantasy has allowed me to create my own world with my own characters that I get to grow and love.

When I’m not writing I spend the majority of my time being a full time stay at home mom. It is a job that I absolutely love and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. My 10yr old daughter Hannah keeps me very busy and of course my awesome husband Joe takes up the rest of my time. My family are my biggest supporters and without them I never would have found the courage to follow my dreams. I hope to one day publish the full series of The Creation Chronicles so stick around, the ride is just beginning.

Welcome Cindy! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

A fantasy story told from a dragon’s point of view.

Sounds interesting. What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Demons by Imagine Dragons

I would pick this song because I love it for one and because the opening of the book puts you in the middle of a violent storm and also a glimpse of what’s hiding inside one of the main characters.

Great choice! Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

JJ. Abrams. Not because my life is anything spectacular, I’m just a geek and I love Star Trek! I have no idea really who I would get to play me. I’ve always liked Jessica Alba; oh and Kate Beckinsale, she kicks ass!

Oh JJ Abrams is an awesome choice! Maybe he has a direct like to Benedict?? What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I’m definitely not much of a planner. I usually just sit down in front of my computer and start typing. Everything just seems to flow that way. I do however have a notebook that I scribble notes, character names, plot twists and things like that. If an idea I like jumps into my head that I can’t use right then, that’s when the notebook comes in handy.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Have confidence in myself! I grew up with not much confidence and it prevented me from trying many things that I wished I had. I always I thought that people would laugh at my ideas or that I just wasn’t good enough. Thankfully I gave myself a good swift kick and I’m getting better. It doesn’t matter what people think, it’s what you believe in your heart that matters most. Being a writer has allowed me to express myself in so many ways and it’s a great outlet. I only wish I would have had the courage sooner.

I think that sentiment is echoed by many writers… What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Umm…I have way more than three! My first fantasy novel was The Elfstones of Shanara by Terry Brooks and I’ve been in love with fantasy ever since. I also love The Dragons of Autumn Twilight (Dragonlance) and The Crystal Shard by RA Salvatore.

Great picks! Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

  • Coffee or tea? TEA
  • Cats or dogs? DOGS
  • Snow or sun? SUN!!!!!!
  • Print books or eReader? PRINT
  • Nachos or potato chips? NACHOS
  • Baked or fried? FRIED
  • Candy or chocolate? CHOCOLATE
  • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? HORROR
  • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? SCIENCE FICTION
  • Classics or Modern? CLASSICS
  • Old World or New World? OLD WORLD
  • Sweet or spicy? SPICY
  • Comfort or Speed? COMFORT

Thank you Cindy for taking the time to answer my questions!

If you’d like to connect with Cindy, you can find her on Facebook, Amazon, Twitter, her website and her blog!

Now let’s take a little look into The Creation Chronicles: The Dragon Within… Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

CoverDeep within the mortal world of Eiddoril, war rages and the blood of innocents flows freely. Once protected by the four elements—Earth, Fire, Water and Air—Eiddoril was a peaceful, beautiful land. Now, after three hundred years of being ravaged by an evil lord and abandoned by their creators, the people and land of Eiddoril are dying.

In the kingdom of Gareth, an orphan girl is raised as one of the royal family. But when she begins to have vivid nightmares it leads her to question where she really came from. Her questions lead her to Fitch, an old magic user, who helps her discover a shocking truth. Karah is not human, but instead part of a long-forgotten race. Desiring answers, she sets out to uncover the secrets of her past, and defeat the enemy wreaking havoc across the land.

In this fantasy tale, Karah must somehow find the strength to fulfill a destiny that has been forced upon her and discover the dragon within. She cannot fail. The future of creation depends on her.

Leave a Reply

