7 Questions

7 Questions with Heath Stallcup

Today I have the pleasure of presenting an interview with author Heath Stallcup. Let’s take a moment and get acquainted with Heath…

Me2Heath Stallcup was born in Salinas, California and relocated to Tupelo, Oklahoma in his tween years. He joined the US Navy and was stationed in Charleston, SC and Bangor, WA shortly after junior college. After his second tour he attended East Central University where he obtained BS degrees in Biology and Chemistry. He then served ten years with the State of Oklahoma as a Compliance and Enforcement Officer while moonlighting nights and weekends with his local Sheriff’s Office. He still lives in the small township of Tupelo, Oklahoma with his wife and three of his seven children. He steals time to write between household duties, going to ballgames, being a grandfather to five and being the pet of numerous animals that have taken over his home.

Welcome Heath! Now let’s get to the questions… Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Whispers is a vengeful ghost story.

Sounds very interesting! What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

My wife actually found the perfect song for just that.  Love Don’t Die by The Fray.  She sent me a text with that and I just sort of shrugged it off.  Then one day I was bored and went and checked out the link and was absolutely FLOORED.  She was right (as usual).  The song would be absolutely perfect.

Great song! Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

My life has been a tragic comedy so probably Tamra Davis who directed Billy Madison.  My first choice to play ‘me’ has passed away (John Candy) so it would have to be another ‘bigger than life’ funny guy.  Maybe John Goodman?

What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

Definitely a pantser.  Fly by the seat of… and I type directly into my computer.  My hands are too arthritic for hand writing.  One thing I’ve noticed though, the stories take on a life of their own.  If something happens that I really don’t like and I try to FORCE a change, the story changes it back.  Apparently there is a reason for the direction it takes.  And sometimes little bitty things that happen early on that I have no idea why I even allowed it to be put in there end up being a key part in the end.  Even with series books, some little tiny thing in book one ends up being a huge thing that everything is hinged on by book three or four.

What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

START WRITING NOW!  I always wanted to, but never believed in myself.  Don’t let others tell you that you can’t.  Find something that you love and just DO IT.

Great advice! What are the three books that really inspired you to become a writer?

Man, that is tough.  I can’t say that it was any books that inspired me to write.  I grew up reading SciFi.  Alan Dean Foster…if his name was on it, my face was in it.  The Star Wars books.  Then as I got older, I read whatever my wife had in the house.  At the time, it was historical romance.  Then she shifted to the vampire/werewolf/zombie stories and I discovered the likes of CJ Baker and Joe McKinney.  Mark Tufo and John O’Brien.  But when it came to me actually writing, I had always wanted to write ‘the great American novel’.  I had started and deleted probably 75 different projects over the years.  It wasn’t until my wife challenged me…a dare really, that I picked up the gauntlet and ran with it.  Then she read it and convinced me that it was worth being published.

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

    • Coffee or tea? COFFEE
    • Cats or dogs? Dogs
    • Snow or sun? Snow
    • Print books or eReader? eReader
    • Nachos or potato chips? Both
    • Baked or fried? Fried
    • Candy or chocolate? Bacon
    • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Horror
    • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Yes
    • Classics or Modern? Modern.  Unless you mean cars.
    • Old World or New World? New
    • Sweet or spicy? Spicy
    • Comfort or Speed? Speed

Thank you Heath for taking the time to answer my questions! If you’d like to connect with Heath, you can find him on Facebook, Twitter, his website, or his Amazon Author Page.

Now let’s take a look at Whispers… Don’t forget to click on the cover to be taken to Amazon!

WhispersSome loves transcend time. Some loves were never meant to be. Some loves are cut short by the evil of others. When Sheriff James Tolbert and his fiancé were killed by a malicious rancher and his cutthroat minions, nobody could expect that the very passion that fueled their love would be the same passion that fueled ghostly revenge. When grave robbers unearth Sheriff Tolbert’s tomb searching for Old West relics, a vengeful spirit is unleashed on a small Texas town hellbent on revenge. If those responsible couldn’t be made to pay, then their progeny would, and they would pay in the most bloody and horrific manner the spirit could dream of. Can modern day law enforcement stop a spirit destined to fulfill an oath made in death? Even when aided by a Texas Ranger and UCLA Paranormal Investigators, how can they stop something that is already dead and buried?

 

3 thoughts on “7 Questions with Heath Stallcup

Leave a Reply

