7 Questions

7 Questions with Dean Harrison

Today I have the pleasure of showcasing an interview with author Dean Harrison. Let’s take a few moments and get to know Dean a little better…

Dean Harrison is a longtime fan of horror fiction. His published work can be found in the anthologies FEM-FANGS, FELL BEASTS and TWISTED TALES FROM THE TORCHLIGHT INN. His first novel, THESE UNQUEIT BONES, will be released by Odium Media in early 2013.

Welcome Dean! Using ten words or less, tell me about your book.

Troubled teen uncovers the skeletons hidden in her family closet.

Interesting premise. What song would you want to play during the opening credits of your book were it made into a movie? Why?

Black Sabbath’s “Back to Eden”, because it fits the theme of Adam hunting down Eve in order to bring the world back to Paradise.

Who would you want to direct the story of your life? Is there anyone specific you’d like to play you?

Tim Burton. Edward Norton.

Short, simple and to the point – I like it! What is your writing process? Are you a planner or a pantser? Do you prefer to hand write your works or type them directly into your word processor?

I write for about two hours every weekday morning before work, and whenever I have the chance over the weekend. I don’t outline, but I keep a log of character notes and plot points. I prefer to type directly into the word processor. In my teens, when I first started dabbling in fiction writing, I was able to work longhand in spiral bound notebooks. No more. I feel the words flow better when my fingers are tapping the keys. Longhand just frustrates me, and I feel somehow limited and trapped. I guess it’s the illusion of space and freedom the computer screen provides.

That’s an interesting point. What advice would you give to a younger version of yourself: something you wish you knew then that you know now?

Just write. Don’t obsess over every little sentence and paragraph because there is no such thing as a perfect first draft. If you strive for perfection, you’ll get nowhere. So let the first draft be shit and you’ll get something done.

What are the 3 (three) books that really inspired you to become a writer?

In the order I read them, from preteens on up:

1)      S.E. Hinton’s THE OUTSIDERS

2)      R.L. Stine’s FEAR STREET series (Yes, I’m counting them all as one.)

3)      Douglas Clegg’s THE HALLOWEEN MAN

Now it’s time for the Rapid. Fire. Questions.

    • Coffee or tea? Coffee. In the morning, it turns me from zombie to human in two cups.
    • Cats or dogs? Hmm… tough one. I have 2 cats and 2 dogs. But because I spent most of my life not having a dog and always wanting one, I’ll go with dogs.
    • Snow or sun? I live in Mobile, Alabama, aka The Deep South, aka Hell’s humid furnace. I wouldn’t mind some snow every once in a while. I’m sure my friends up North would love to send some my way right about now.
    • Print books or eReader? Print. Still haven’t jumped aboard the eReader train. It’s only a matter of time, though.
    • Nachos or potato chips? Nachos. You get a little bit of everything with nachos.
    • Baked or fried? Baked.
    • Candy or chocolate? Chocolate.
    • Comedy, Romance, or Horror? Is this a serious question? [Yes, it was…]
    • Action, Science Fiction, or Animated? Not a big fan of any of these, but I’ll go with Action.
    • Classics or Modern? Classics. Modern sucks these days.
    • Old World or New World? Old World with New World advances.
    • Sweet or spicy? I swing both ways.
    • Comfort or Speed? Comfort. Speed kills.

Thank you Dean for taking the time to answer my questions. If you would like to connect with Dean, you can find him on Facebook or his website.

Not let’s take a look at These Unquiet Bones…

UnquietBonesTrying to get behind the truth of her mother’s death, Amy Snow unleashes the skeletons lurking in the dark of her father’s closet, and learns a terrible, twisted truth about her family tree. Meanwhile, a man named Adam is on a mission to restore Paradise to its former glory. To accomplish this, he must find “The Lost One,” a girl he calls Eve, and sacrifice her to the god she betrayed the day a talking serpent slithered into the Garden of Eden.

Don’t forget the clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

Leave a Reply

