Five Line Friday

Five Line Friday: Death Comes For Us All

I’ve gotten out of posting these for one reason or another – but I’m back 🙂

Here are the first five lines of a short I’ve written entitled Death Comes For Us All. It will be appearing in Issue #12 of The Sirens Call due out shortly. Hope you enjoy!

I wake to the smell of smoke, claustrophobia washing over my senses. I cough, trying to expel the acridness from my lungs; my body only succeeds in sucking more of it in.

I reach up to cover my mouth, my left hand comes up short against a hard surface. As I slide my palm up the surface, I can feel the roughness of it and smell the subtle scent of pine over the smoke.

As I panic, I wonder where I am.

If you’d like to read the rest of the tale, I’ll be sure to post a link when the issue is released!

4 thoughts on “Five Line Friday: Death Comes For Us All

Leave a Reply

