Interviews · Nine Questions with...

Nine Questions with… Shenoa Carroll-Bradd

Today I have the pleasure of presenting an interview with Shenoa Carroll-Bradd, author of a great many things. I’ll let Shenoa tell you all a little bit about herself…

ShenoaHello! I’m Shenoa Carroll-Bradd, writer, dreamer, and snark expert extraordinaire. I grew up in Southern California, moved to Texas for a decade, and now I’m back, living near the San Bernardino Mountains. It’s been a fantastic writing year for me, and I’m thrilled to be able to share my little nightmares with you.

Currently out:

“The Minstrel Angel” available for download on Amazon.com

“Rings and Waves” in Locothology 2013: Tales of Fantasy and Science Fiction

Due later this year:

“Spectrum” in Song Stories: Dark Side of the Moon

“Pool Closed” in Fear: Of the Water

“Red Hot Mama” in Tales of the Undead-Hell Whore vol. 3

“Have You Seen Her” in Dying to Live

“Emancipation” in The Urban Eddur

“Secrets of the Seven Symphonies Circus” in Daylight Dims

“Demon’s Drink Free” in The Last Diner

“Rose’s Wilting” in Monster Hunter: Blood Trails

“Welcome” in Spirits of St. Louis: Missouri Ghost Tales

“Beheld” in Ignite

Due in 2014:

“Aldini’s Tether” in Raus! Untoten! vol. 4

Next year, I plan to focus more on longer works, and will try to finish up several of my fantasy novels-in-progress.

To keep up with my progress, please visit my blog at www.sbcbfiction.net, join my fan page at www.facebook.com/sbcbfiction or say “Hi” on twitter @ShenoaSays

Awesome news Shenoa! Tell us about your writing process?

I don’t have much of an official writing process, certainly not a set schedule. I write whenever and wherever inspiration strikes, whether it’s in the car or in the middle of dinner.

When inspiration is being coy, I tend to write the first draft in broad strokes, like I’m telling someone a story. On the second draft, I write the scenes in order of interest to me, so that the clearest sections materialize first and the rest of the story follows. For the third draft, I read through and flesh it out further, making sure the seams are covered and everything flows as it should.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I’m a big Ray Bradbury fan, and would love to get better at writing science fiction. The few sci-fi pieces I’ve written so far have yet to find a home.

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and On Writing by Stephen King both helped with my writing focus and motivation, as well as some of the more nuts-and-bolts mechanics of good writing.

20th Century Ghosts by Joe Hill – This short story collection really inspired me to try harder and put more faith in my writing. Joe Hill’s stories are exactly what I’d like mine to be someday.

Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce – This is one of the first fantasy books I ever read, and I loved how vibrant and lovable the characters were, and how fierce the female main character was. This was the book that made me want to become an author.

The Last Unicorn by Peter S. Beagle – absolutely beautiful, heartbreaking and magical. I always recommend this book to fantasy lovers, and would be thrilled if I could write with ¼ of Beagle’s verve.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

For my fantasy novelette “The Minstrel Angel”, I would cast Colin Morgan (or Benedict Cumberbatch) as the titular angel, Iain Glen as Captain Harmon Barrett, and Charles Dance as The Magician.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Hah! I would scream, probably tear up a little, then call my mother. And, likely do an embarrassing victory dance in the kitchen.

There is nothing wrong with a victory dance! Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

What an interesting question! I do prefer to write with a drink at hand, as it loosens me up and quiets my inner critic. Other than that, I have a couple rings I like to wear as I write, because the sparkle as I type is like a silent cheerleading squad.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

When I’m not writing, I’m probably binge-watching shows on Netflix, baking, crocheting, or playing role-playing games with friends.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

This is the opening of last year’s NaNoWriMo project, “The Shadows of Chateau Vrai”, a prequel to this year’s “Parchment Girl”:

Deep underground, a metal man sat at a table hewn from the rough, dark stone of the cavern walls. Long crystals hung from the roof of the cave, casting everything in a milky blue glow. The metal man shone like polished moonlight. He paged through an unbound manuscript, spending no more than a few seconds on each page, his glass eyes flying back and forth over the carefully scribed lines.

Footsteps approached down the earthen hall, and the metal man carefully closed the manuscript. He folded his hands and bowed his head, as if in sleep.  

A slight man stepped through the cave wall, the glamour he had set up in place of an actual door. The stone pattern flickered as he passed, and seemed to solidify again behind him. The man stood only as tall as a child, but had long white hair gathered in a delicate braid, banded in silver, and a beard the same color.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions Shenoa! Now let’s take a look at The Minstrel Angel

Minstrel AngelThe forces of mankind face certain defeat as a demon army closes in, but when they capture an intriguing, inhuman spy, his dark powers may prove to be just what they need to turn the tide.

Clicking on the cover will take you straight to Amazon!

One thought on “Nine Questions with… Shenoa Carroll-Bradd

Leave a Reply

