Interviews

Nine Questions with… Nicole Storey

This Wednesday, the FlipSide hosts an interview with Nicole Storey, author extraordinaire! For those of you unacquainted with Nicole, let’s take a moment to let her introduce yourself to the captive audience.

IMG_0679 (2)Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog, Julianne! I live in the hot and humid part of Georgia (really, is there any part of GA that isn’t hot and humid?) with my two amazing children, my wonderful husband, two rambunctious cats, and a privileged hamster. When I’m not writing, I enjoy cooking, gardening, reading, and anything to do with Halloween! It’s my favorite holiday. J

Tell us about your writing process?

I really wish I could say that I have a writing process! Ha-ha! Unlike many authors, I usually write by the seat of my pants. Generally, I come up with ideas and titles, which I keep in a folder. When I get ready to write, one of the first things I do is search for a book cover. Beautiful cover art is as important to me as what goes inside the book and it also inspires me when I write the story. I tend to avoid outlines, as my characters tend to take on lives of their own and I am left tagging along at their mercy.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I write juvenile fantasy and YA paranormal. I feel like this is where I am strongest and don’t feel the need (right now) to write in other genres.

That’s a fair answer. Tell us about the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

I think I could sum this up better if I use a mixture of authors and books. I’ve read so many in my life that I can’t possibly choose only five!

When I was a little girl, C.S. Lewis’ The Chronicles of Narnia series was my favorite and I still love it. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe was the first book to introduce me to fantasy and cinched my love for reading.

As a teen, I read almost every book Dean Koontz came out with and that was when I realized I wanted to write one day, too. Koontz has a way of mixing the bizarre with everyday life and making it believable. That is one of the most important ingredients in a good book – the reader has to believe it.

Two authors in particular gave me the push I needed to stop dreaming about writing books and actually put pen to paper. Kim Harrison takes extraordinary characters with paranormal powers and brings them down to earth. The reader begins to wonder if perhaps their next-door neighbor might me a witch or a vampire. You can’t help but see people in a different light after reading her stories. I contacted Kim and was pleased to find out that she is just as personal as her characters are. She has been a huge help to me in my writing endeavors.

J.K. Rowling showed me that anything is possible. She was a mother of a little child, flat broke and living in poverty, and yet she never gave up her dream. She persevered. I knew that if she could do it, then so could I.

Lastly, I have to say that other Indie writers (there are too many to name) that I have met on my journey have definitely influenced me, hounded me, picked me up when I was down and ready to give up, and are always there for me. I must give a shout out to author Sean Sweeney. He was the first Indie author I met and has been a shining light when things get dark – always showing me the way. Also, my publisher from Inknbeans Press, Jo Lowe, who read my work and decided that I was good enough to take a chance on. It is a wonderful feeling to know that someone out there believes in me.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

This is a hard question to answer, as I don’t watch a lot of T.V. or movies. LOL!

NO TV or movies?? How do you relax Nicole?? What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

I know I would be ecstatic! Other than that, I have no idea. I try not to dwell too much on what may happen and just live in the moment where my writing is concerned. I want to enjoy the journey. Where it takes me is out of my hands.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

I think every writer does. For me, it is coffee and instrumental music.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

I am always reading a book, even when I am writing. It’s therapeutic to be able to put my work down and lose myself in someone else’s at the end of the day. I also enjoy cooking and trying new recipes or working outside in my flower beds while my daughter helps. I don’t watch a lot of T.V., but my son and I love The Walking Dead, so we always make sure to catch it when it is on.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

This is from my new book coming out this summer. It is YA paranormal series called The Celadon Circle. The first book is Blind Sight.

Blood and screaming; screaming and blood.  The horrors of the image before her assault Jordan’s senses, overwhelming them to the point she must scream herself or explode.  It wouldn’t matter if she did.  The young girl fighting for her life wouldn’t hear her.  Neither would the monster dismantling her body piece by agonizing piece.

She’d fought valiantly.  The girl – she couldn’t be more than sixteen – obviously wasn’t the type to roll over and die.  The monster liked that.  Fear made her flesh sweeter.

Fantastic Nicole! Now let’s take a sneak peek into Grimsley Hollow: The Chosen One

Grimsley Hollow Cover_CS FrontGage Gilbert is an eleven-year-old boy who has autism, loves Halloween, and has no friends. Although he has always been happy with the safety and security of his family, he longs for a real friend and adventure – not just the ones he makes up in his head. Then, he meets Eve.

Eve is a young witch from another world called Grimsley Hollow. It’s where all magical beings live in safety and peace, but their world is in trouble. Gage is the only one who can help save them from an evil witch who has taken control.

With Eve’s help (along with a sarcastic pixy, a trouble-making werewolf, and a half-vampire), Gage travels to Grimsley Hollow. Together, they begin a journey that will change them all. It’s a dangerous race against evil, where creatures unheard of stalk the land under a harvest moon and monsters that only exist in dreams become real.

Gage wanted friends and adventure, but he had no idea they would come at such a dangerous price. Can one autistic boy defeat an evil witch and help save his new friends? Travel to Grimsley Hollow and find out!

Clicking on the cover will take you to Amazon!

I’d like to thank Nicole for taking the time to answer my questions. If you would like to connect with Nicole, you can find her on her website, her blog, Twitter, or Facebook.

Don’t forget to come back next week for an interview with Daniel Sherrier!

6 thoughts on “Nine Questions with… Nicole Storey

Leave a Reply

