Interviews

Nine Questions with… T.R. Stoddard

Today I welcome T.R. Stoddard to the FlipSide. For those of you unacquainted with T.R., let’s take a quick moment to get to know her.

TheresawebsiteT.R. Stoddard is the author of her own wild imagination. Psychological thrillers and unique young adult fiction are her forte, but she hopes to one day make a contribution to each major genre. Stoddard has two novels and one short story currently in circulation, and spends her free time creating more. She lives in Orlando, Fl with her boyfriend and their rescue dog Harry PAWter.

And now for a few words of introduction from T.R. herself…

There’s my formal bio, I’m never good at introducing myself. I’ve finished three novels. I have another seven in the works. My work-in-progress list never ends, at times it seems infinite. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Welcome T.R., tell us about your writing process?

I sit down and write, usually with music in the background. I generally zone out and the only people that can reach me are friends who aid in the writing process. Writing is far easier to me than writing about my writing process.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I would love to write an epic steampunk novel or an alternate history novel set in the 20’s or 40’s.

I’ve always wanted to try my hand at Steampunk as well – I have a great idea (in my opinion of course), but other projects seem to always get in the way. What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

The Xanth Series by Piers Anthony – Introduced me to reading.

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling – Cemented my love for reading.

The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe – Inspires me.

The Death Artist by Jonathan Santlofer – I came across this book one day in a tote in my house. The amalgamation of death and art has always resonated deep within me.

The Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine – I’ve read and reread this story countless times and I never tire of it.

Great choices! If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Dream-casting is one of the best parts of a book. I do it constantly while reading, and sometimes with my own characters.

FINDING SANITY

Ion Gruffudd as Randall

Any cute tabby cat as Mr. Snuggiekins

Shenae Grimes as Allison

Shelley Henig as Amanda

Florence Henderson as Randall’s mother, Janice.

Just putting this out here, but I have the cutest tabby – he’s orange and huge and a cuddle-bucket when he wants to be! What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Freak out. Make sure I wasn’t dreaming. Freak out again. Tell my boyfriend, Mom, closest writing buddies, and freak out again. After that I would plaster it on every social networking site. All the while I’d be staring at the list.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Caffeine seems to be a big one, Dr. Publix is my poison. Maybe when I make it big-time I can afford Dr. Pepper.

I declare Dr. Pepper is most delicious! What do you do when you’re not writing?

Edit. Think about writing. Day-job. Read. Play Pokemon. Spend time with with friends/family/animals. Theme parks. Life. Think about writing again.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

From ‘Aluria: The Prophecy’

After a tragedy, different people do different things. Some throw themselves into their school, and others disengage entirely. I needed a change, which meant going somewhere far away. That was the day things were meant to change; I made sure of it. I left home on my lunch break at the only electronic store in my backwards Podunk town and aimed never to return. I planned to leave, disappear without a trace and begin anew. Over the past few days, I had toyed with the idea so I had all of my essentials with me. Traveling light was necessary, I didn’t know where my journey would take me. I didn’t tell a soul where I was going, not that I knew where I’d end up. I just kept walking, waiting for something to guide me in some direction. It didn’t matter which direction that happened to be.

Great excerpt! So let’s take a look at T.R.’s recent release – Finding Sanity…

Finding sanity coverWaking up in solitary confinement is never fun for anyone, and Randall is no exception. He is subjected to relive crucial moments from his past until he finds himself out on his own, free. Deciphering what is real vs. fantasy is half the fun. He finds new love, but as always an old flame complicates things. His reality and fantasy worlds collide putting him in a very compromising position. Can he make it out with his relationships intact?

Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will whisk you away to Amazon!

Thank you T.R. for taking the time to answer my questions. If you’d like to keep track of what T.R., is up to, consider checking out her Amazon Author Page!

Leave a Reply

