Indie Authors · Interviews

Nine Questions with… K.J. Wolf

Today I interview author K.J. Wolf to the FlipSide. Welcome K.J., why don’t you take a moment and introduce yourself to the captive audience you now have before you.

I’m K.J. Wolf from upstate N.Y. and I’m thrilled to be able to call myself a writer!  My days are filled with home schooling and working with the animals on our small hobby farm while my evenings are spent playing matchmaker for fictional characters.
I love to hear from fans.  Feel free to follow me on Facebook and Twitter (@writergirl72)

What is your writing process?

I’m a total pantser.  I have lists with character names, traits and any relevant information I might need to reference at a later point, but that’s it.  The story plays kind of like a movie in my mind.  I need to find my place, focus and get out of the way to let the characters do their thing.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

It’s not too far out of my comfort zone, but I’d love to do romance with paranormal elements.

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

This is impossible to answer!  I remember reading my first romance novel when I was a young teen.  It was cheesy, sweet and so innocent.  I fell in love with the genre immediately.
Erotica just seems like a natural progression with age.  The older you get, the innocence can still be in tact but sex just becomes a natural part of life.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Christian Bale as Matt Day in Change of the Heart.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

The first contract letter I got resulted in bad dancing for hours around the house.  Something like the N.Y. Times Bestseller List would probably make me pass out.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Not really.  Some people like music but I can only handle classical.  I end up singing along and falling into my Grammy acceptance speech instead of writing.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Cook, hike, read and watch my guilty pleasures on TV.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

Dara North fell on her butt. One minute she was trudging through the snow while stinging snow pellets whipped against her cheeks walking her dog, Max, and the next her butt ached like the devil. At least no one had been around to see it happen.

“Are you okay?”

She blushed at the sound of the deep, concerned voice coming from the doorway of the café she’d passed just a few seconds ago. Someone had seen her less than graceful slide onto her fanny.

Strong hands anchored themselves under her arms and hoisted her onto her feet with ease. Max circled her feet while yapping getting the leash wrapped around her legs.

“Well that’s not helping.  Let me get that for you.”

If you would like to connect with K.J., you can find her on Facebook and Twitter! Now it’s time for a sneak peek into K.J.’s novella Change of the Heart…

ChangeoftheHeartCoverOfficialMatt Day is a cab driver who was burned by the last person he let into his life and he lost everything because of it. Camilla White just got fired by her secret lover at the holiday office party and needs Matt to get her out of New York City.

On the way, a snowstorm hits and the two end up stranded in a snow drift. The only way to survive is to rely on each other. With two damaged hearts on the line, it might take a Christmas miracle to make it happen.

Change of the Heart is a story of hope, romance and healing. This spicy read might be set around the holidays, but it’s a great read any time of the year!

Don’t forget to click on the cover to be whisked away to Amazon!

I’d like to thank K.J. for taking the time to answer my questions!

Don’t forget to join my next week when my guest will be TR Stoddard!

Leave a Reply

