Indie Authors · Interviews

Nine Questions with… Marissa Carmel

Today I have the pleasure of featuring an interview with author Marissa Carmel! Welcome Marissa, why don’t you take a few moments and introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

Me (2)Wife. Mother. Wordsmith. I like to write just outside the lines.

At least that’s what my twitter account says.

I’ve been writing since I can remember, and I always did it as something for personal enjoyment. But when iFeel came to me, I knew it was time to break out and share my imagination with the world. I’ve self-published iFeel, book 1 in the Vis Vires trilogy, completed ‘Gravitational Pull’, book 2, which has gone into editing and started book three, ‘Constellation’. I’m very excited to finish the trilogy!

Tell us about your writing process?

It’s a mess. I have scribbled notes and ideas everywhere, but I have recently dedicated one notebook to each of my works. That way when I have an idea, I have a specific place to put it. I’m getting better. I have also started writing outlines, which helps align my thoughts. But when physically writing, I just go from memory and let it flow.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

No, I love writing contemporary/New Adult romance. I think an idea would really have to capture me for me to deviate. But you never know what the future holds.

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

Pride and Prejudice, because what romance author doesn’t love Jane Austin?

Dante’s Inferno, I love the depth and the exploration of sin.

A Modest Proposal, by Jonathon Swift, I know it’s not technically a book, but its message is a powerful one.  And I believe my love of satires stemmed from this read.

The Little Mermaid, my mother would read it to me as a child. We both love anything supernatural; it’s a story that has always stayed with me. I hope to write a New Adult novel about a mermaid sometime in the near future.

The Three Billy Goats Gruff, I read this to my son almost every night.

Those are great choices! If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

I have no idea. I wrestle with this all the time. I just haven’t found the people to play my characters!

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Probably, pass back out.

I have to admit that I laughed out loud with that answer! Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Smoking. It’s so bad. But I’m so connected to my character, that sometimes I need a smoke break.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Spending time with my family. Working my day job. Catching up on my DVR library, which seems to be growing by the minute. I’m also always reading something.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

**Disclaimer- this is unedited and subject to change.**

‘Gravitational Pull’, book 2 the Vis Vires trilogy.

“Make it stop!!” I scream through strangled sobs, as I flail all over the bed.

“Liv!” I can hear a distant trace of Justice’s voice as he tries to calm me. But I have no control over my own body; the energy is just too much. Make it stop. Make it stop, I repeat and repeat, as the tingles move viciously up my thighs.

I brace myself for the worst.

The energy finally makes its way to its destination and pinches me right between the legs.

 “Agh!” I scream as my body violently, and brutally, gives out. I’m left lifeless; no energy to spare.

Thank you Marissa! If you would like to connect with Marissa you can find her on Facebook, Twitter, her website or on Pinterest! Now let’s take a longer look at iFeel, the first book in the Vis Vires Trilogy…

iFeel cover3Lust. Anger. Hate. Desire. Love. Happiness. Joy. iFeel.

What happens when an unknowing empath meets a pixie who wears leather, a snitch who is repulsive and a fiery angel who can literally set your soul on fire? A whole lot of emotional turmoil and one love story ignited.

Liv Christianni is isolated, alone, tortured and withdrawn, saddled with the torrential downpour of the world’s emotions. Accepting of her providence Liv has lost all hope, until one day fate steps in and spins the course of her life like a spiraling top. Hunted by a Spirit Stalker, Liv is forced to gain control of herself and her surroundings, threatened by the touch of her immortal love; she must find a way to survive both physically and emotionally. Can she find the courage to accept her true self? Can she love unconditionally cognizant of the condemning consequences? Can she rise from the ashes to become the person she was always meant to be? Funny, witty, real, and poignant, iFeel rips into your soul, and sets your emotions on fire. If you are a fan of Charmed or Supernatural, The Vampire Diaries or The Secret Circle this series is for you!

Thank you Marissa for answering all of my questions! And don’t forget that you can click on the cover and it will whisk you away to the Amazon page for iFeel!

Join my next week – I’ll be interviewing KJ Wolf!

 

Leave a Reply

