Publishing Industry/News

A Sign of Trends to Come?

Today I read an article in The New York Times that has me wondering if traditional publishing is truly on the decline. I don’t think it will ever go away, but if what is said in the article is true, traditional houses are focusing less of their money on marketing. What does that mean for the traditionally published authors who may now adopt the self-publishing route? Well for starters, it will give them a bigger piece of their royalties and they’ll get to be in charge of their own marketing campaigns.

Is there a shift coming? Read New Publishers Authors Trust: Themselves in The New York Times and see what you think.

4 thoughts on “A Sign of Trends to Come?

  1. The self-pub market could florish, but could also implode under the weight of poorly edited books and terrible covers. It used to be my dream to be published by a big house, but after watching the trends in the last few years I’d rather go with what looks like the better option for me.

    1. Ack! I did not see this comment until now Brent – Sorry!

      I completely agree with you. At one point in time, it was my dream to be ‘traditionally’ published because that was the only option. Now I’m thrilled that the current publishing model which allows for self-publishing and small press viability has given me the opportunity to see my dream realized.

      As for poorly edited – it does exist in both the traditionally and self published worlds. It would be great if we could get away from it, but unfortunately there is no 100% true way to edit as much of it is subjective. Spelling and grossly erroneous grammatical errors aside, prose is interpretative. What one person views as ‘incorrect’ may be how the author intended to use those words to convey their meaning.

      🙂

      1. For instance, in the book I’m reading now by one of the genre’s best talents, I was jarred when on the same page a character is called ‘Katie’ and ‘Katy’. I almost lost my mind…

Leave a Reply

