Interviews

Nine Questions with… Kat Yares

Today I have the pleasure of interviewing Kat Yares! Welcome Kat, why don’t you take a moment and introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

Hello, my name is Kat Yares and I’ve been writing for most of my adult life.  I’ve had short stories published in both print and online magazines and have recently begun the journey of being a self-published author.  I’ve earned my living with my words both by writing ‘confession’ stories when my children were young to writing web content when I got older.  In between, I’ve been a waitress, bookkeeper, shipping, receiving manager, and computer repairperson.  One of the best moments in my writing career was when I was accepted into the Horror Writers Association in 2001.

Most of the books I write are considered controversial.  Not because I want readers to be shocked, but rather that they will think.  For myself – the ‘what-ifs’ of the world are there to be explored.

I’m married (to the love of my life – my soul mate, friend and motivator) and between us, we have seven grown children, three grandchildren and two English Mastiffs.  When not reading or writing, the two of us love to make short horror movies and dabble in photography.

What is your writing process?

Basically, it goes something like this:  idea, research, outline, butt in chair and write.  May also do a lot of plotting verbally with my better half – he is always great at helping me flesh out ideas into story.

It’s great that you have the support of your husband – there’s nothing better than being able to talk out your ideas before putting them on paper. Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I don’t really think about genre when I write – I just tell the story I want to read and let the genre chips fall where they may.

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales

The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway

The Bible

Why, because they all deal with the human condition as well as the role society plays in shaping character.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Since I’ve already written the screenplay version of Vengeance Is Mine, this one is easy, at least for the two main male roles.  Billy Bob Thornton to pay Cooter, Robert Duvall to play the Brother Joe Jones, and some young unknown actress to play the lead of Macie Jones.  But I really think that Thornton and Duvall could give the story the powerful performances it would need to be successful.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Break out the champagne and do the happy dance.  Tell my husband he can quit work now.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Facebook, Shuffled Row, the occasional glass of wine.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

Reading, photography, making short films when the budget and time allows and occasionally cleaning house.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

From Chapter One of The Profiler: Dark Fantasy to be released Summer 2013

Lightening ripped through the night sky revealing the source of the flashing red lights.  Dozens of men, wearing yellow rain slickers over blue uniforms stood on the lonely country road, some staring blankly into space, others retched the contents of their stomachs into nearby ditches.  The lightening illuminated the reflective stripes running across the backs of the slickers, the word POLICE flashing with each strike.

Floodlights beamed bright lights at a small portion of the road and surrounding area.  The coroner’s truck, easily identifiable, stood open awaiting its morbid cargo.  Two men, both wearing suits beneath the rain poncho stood looking down at the nearby ditch.

The mutilated body of a nude, young woman lay in the ditch.  Her head, decapitated.

Ooh! Fantastic! If you would like to connect with Kat and keep up to date on when her books release, you can find her on her blog, Twitter, or via her Amazon Author Page.

Now let’s take a look at Kat’s latest book, The XIII…

TheXIII_frontcover1For over two thousand years, the patriarchal heads of thirteen families have ruled the world from the shadows. When adopted Maria Sanchez marries the wealthy, good looking Joshua Christenson III, she has no idea of who he really is or the ancestry of their child she carries. As the new generation of the thirteen take their places at the table – they have no idea that one in their own midst will seek to destroy them all. As Maria attempts to understand what is happening in the world and why; the weaker link of the thirteen attempts to gain the power that he so desperately desires. Although a standalone thriller, The XIII picks up 2000 years after the story told in Kat Yares’ Beneath the Tor. A page turner that fits the description of The Da Vinci Code meets The Illuminati. Although first penned several years ago, the themes in this story are front page news today.

Pure awesomeness from the sounds of it (but I like that sort of thing!). If you’re interested in picking up a copy, click on the cover and you’ll be whisked away to Amazon!

Join me next week when my guest will be Jessica Grace Coleman!

One thought on “Nine Questions with… Kat Yares

Leave a Reply

