Indie Authors

Nine Questions with… Lavinia Urban

Today we welcome author Lavinia Urban to The Flipside. Hello Lavinia, why don’t you take a moment to introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

pic of meHi, I am Lavinia Urban and I grew up in a small town in England before moving to a small village in Scotland in 2000 after meeting my husband. We have two beautiful daughters called Erin and Kasey-ray.

I have been writing since the age of 12 and only the last couple of years I found the confidence to share my work.

I stopped writing for a while, then in 2006 I sat and wrote a short story about my eldest, who was 5, and her classmates. It was about how you should stay in school and study and bullying is wrong. The school absolutely loved it.

After that Erin kept asking me to write her another story. One night I dreamed one of the scenes in my first book, Erin the Fire Goddess: The Beginning. The rest is history as they would say J

Tell us about your writing process?

Currently I am writing the third book in my Erin the Fire Goddess series, as well as (trying) writing a bonus book for the series plus a zombie book.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I currently write in the Young Adult fiction genre, but I am also writing a zombie book, which I have not decided on the genre yet. I will just see how it flows before I decide. I will also be writing a romance book which will definitely be aimed for adults.

Awesome! I love Zombies! What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

If I am honest, books have not influenced me to write per se. It is more that I have read a book and thought ‘wow I want my readers to enjoy my books as well as I have enjoyed reading this’

If anything influences me to write it is my two wonderful daughters. The book series is actually named after my eldest and the character has a sister named after my youngest.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Oooo I have not thought about that. I have had readers talk about the soundtrack. They say Alicia Keys ‘Girl on fire’ makes them think of my books.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Scream lol. I would probably text my husband before updating my Facebook status lol.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Chocolate, lol, and sleep; most of my ideas come from my dreams.

I’m a sucker for chocolate as well – sometimes I need a piece just to help get me through a terribly trying scene (emotionally of course). What do you do when you’re not writing?

House work, reading and Facebook games (they are sooooo addictive!)

Aren’t they thoug? I often wonder if they are made simply to stifle my productivity… Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

For the first week, after that awful incident, I stayed at the cottage and cried. Just when I thought I was all cried out and my body couldn’t take any more fresh tears ripped through me, leaving me feeling drained; both emotionally and physically.

The feeling of helplessness ripped through me as I would drift in and out of consciousness. Everything swirled around me in a blur. Only one thing I was sure of……………….the rain. It beat down heavily, not letting up in the slightest. It seemed to echo my sorrow. However, I knew the cause of the rain and this brought fresh waves of sadness, humiliation and anger. How dare he be sad!

Towards the end of the week was when the fire inside me began to grow. It was unlike anything I had ever felt before. It started in my heart; the flames building with every pulsating beat. Then slowly it spread, causing me both pain and anguish. I would scream in horror as the feeling of being cooked from the inside out took hold of me.

Let’s take a sneak peek into Erin the Fire Goddess: The Beginning

eRINFireG_Book1Cover copyErin Tait is a 15 year old girl, born with a birthmark covering the left side of her face.

She moves to her parent’s home town of Galladale, where all is not what it seems.

From day one, Erin is bullied by Jessica Watson, for looking at Sean Jackson.

Why is she trying to keep Erin away? It’s hard when Sean goes out of his way to talk to Erin, causing the bullying to get worse.

Erin is lonely and scared; she doesn’t know what to do. Can she control the fire inside?

Sounds great huh?? Don’t forget that clicking on the cover will take you directly to Amazon.

Thank you Lavinia! If you want to connect with Lavinia, you can find her on Facebook on her author page and book page, as well as Twitter.

Join me next week when I will be interviewing Dina Rae!

Leave a Reply

