Indie Authors · Interviews

Nine Questions with… Tim Miller

Today I’m joined by author Tim Miller, whose novel The Hand of God I’m currently reading. Welcome Tim, why don’t you take a moment to introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

219051_10151214372295630_77645955_oI have studied various religions, as well as psychology and have worked in several fields involving the study of human behavior. After serving four years in the U.S. Marines, I spent six years working as a corrections officer. I have also worked as a technician in a psychiatric center. The Hand of God is my first novel in almost ten years. I currently live in San Antonio, Texas with my wife and children.

I became a fan of horror as a teenager. At the age of fourteen, I would often read Stephen King books while listening to Iron Maiden on my head phones. I would write short stories to entertain myself and my friends. In 2001, I published his first book, Without a Trace, and then Out of Nowhere a year later. These were mystery/suspense thrillers, but frightening enough in their own right.

After a ten year break and writing two inspirational books, I’m back writing horror with The Hand of God. It is the first book in the series about Pastor Charlie, the preacher/serial killer. Currently, I’m working on the second book in the series.

That’s quite the history Tim. Let’s discuss your writing a little more in-depth; what is your process?

I don’t really have one. I sit down and write when I get the time and energy to do so. I work a full-time job, have kids, take online classes and train in mixed martial arts. So I try to average a chapter a day.

A chapter a day with that schedule – that’s awesome! Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

Not really. I like watching science fiction on TV and in movies, but Sci-Fi books have always been hard for me to follow. YA is big right now, but not really my thing.  I used to write more mystery/suspense, but that is rather limited. I enjoy writing horror with unlimited death and destruction

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

The Stand by Stephen King—It was so epic on so many scales and had such well-rounded characters across the board. I’d just never ready anything like it. It read like something that could have actually happened.

The Poet by Michael Connelly—This was one of the most classic mysteries. With one of the most diabolical villains  ever. Had some great twists in it as well.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Alan Tudyk  as Charlie for sure. I’d pictured Malcolm McDowell as the Bishop.

Oh, I really like Alan Tudyk and after getting an early feel for Pastor Charlie, he’s be great in the role. What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Quit my job

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Not particularly, I just sit and write, though I have plenty of distractions

I think many of us have distractions… My wish is for a bubble! What do you do when you’re not writing?

Usually working, or the things mentioned above.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

Palau, Mexico

Father Sandoval watched from the doorway as people filed into the small parish. He had been the priest there for ten years, knowing each of the families by name. There were only around one hundred members, so it was easy for him to remember everyone. As they filed in, he could see almost all his parishioners where there for the service. As they took their seats, he made his way to the front, taking his place at the altar. The entrance procession played as he walked toward the front. Upon reaching the altar, he turned to face the crowd and began the day’s mass.

“In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit,” he spoke in Spanish as he crossed himself.

“Amen,” the congregation responded while returning the gesture.

Great excerpt Tim! Now let’s take a look at The Hand of God

Charlie Sims is not your typical preacher. God has called him to rid the world of sinners. One corpse at a time, he carries out his brutally selfless work until a more powerful preacher appears who will change his life forever. A battle ensues for the fate of mankind. 

Charlie’s devout beliefs are shaken as he finds himself hurtled into a battle for the end of the world where nothing is what it seems. A violent tale filled with death and chaos, the lines between good and evil are blurred and eventually demolished.

If you’d like to connect with Tim, you can find him on his website or on Twitter.

Don’t forget to join my next week when my guest will be M Edward McNally!

Leave a Reply

