Interviews

Nine Questions with… Scott M. Goriscak

Today I’m joined by the magnanimous Scott M. Goriscak, an author and advocate of the horror industry. Welcome Scott, why don’t you take a moment and introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

ScottGoriscakI began writing in high school but it wasn’t until a conversation with Horror Writer Clive Barker did my writing turn to the dark side. I published his first collection of short stories, Grim and Ghastly in 2008 and followed up with a second collection Dead and Decaying in 2009. Also in 2009 my first story submission Home Sweet Home was selected for the 2010 Masters of Horror Anthology! The following year I was again chosen for the 2011 Masters of Horror anthology Damned If You Don’t with his story Easy to Digest. In 2011 I was published in numerous anthologies. Soup of Souls Anthology (No Man Left Behind), I Believe in Werewolves (Parenting-Not for the Faint of Heart), Satan’s Toy Chest (Playing with Dolls), Satan’s Toy Box: Toy Soldiers (The South Shall Rise Again), Post-Apocalyptic Raids (Who are the Faithful),  Spirits of the Night (Lost and Found), and Field of Shrieks in The Spirit of Poe anthology which all proceeds of the publication go to keeping the home of Edgar Allan Poe open to the public due to the city of Baltimore cut its funding. In 2012 I founded THE HORROR SOCIETY.

The HORROR SOCIETY is a community of authors, artists, screen writers, filmmakers, actors, editors, publishers, and musicians who work and contribute to the universe of Horror. The goal of this community is for the individual to share and promote their work by networking with others in the industry to further their careers. We also want members to share their experiences to educate and help others avoid making decisions that would prevent them from achieving their goals. In addition we want to promote conversation between the individuals of the horror community that may have never met under normal circumstances. We want to bridge the gap between the veterans of the industry with the new generation. This is not a fan page; all applicants will need to be contributing to the industry of Horror in some fashion to be accepted. We want to encourage creativity, discuss ideas, inspire where we cannot be critical and discourage. The Horror Society, making the world darker than we found it.

Tell us about your writing process, Scott?

Having a full-time job, I write at night when my wife and children are sleeping. My writing sessions usually last a few hours before my imagination starts to fade.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I have had moments where I think about writing children’s books but problem that I seem to run into is the stories never seem to have happy endings. Just ask my kids; “Goldilocks and the Three Vampires” didn’t end well for the little girl. So at the moment I am content with horror being my home.

I think that’s a fair answer – though I’m sure many of us are dying to read “Goldilocks and the Three Vampires”… What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

1. The first horror comic I read.

ScoobyDo

2. The first book I read about horror.

HowtoCareForYourMonster

3. Clive Barker’s Books of Blood – It was so cutting edge at its time. Made me really think about being original.
4. Stephen King’s Salem’s Lot – This was the freshest story I had read about Vampires.
5. Edgar Allan Poe’s Collection – Poe’s work to me was so far ahead of both his and our time. Don’t know if we can ever catch up to his talent or the way he thought. One can only wonder what he would have achieved if he didn’t die so young. You can read his stories over and over again without losing interest.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

First I would choose my short story Easy to Digest and as a main character selection I would have to say DJ Qualls from the film Road Trip would be my choice to cast as the main character.

Great choice, Scott. What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

I would thank everyone that made it possible. First and foremost the fans, then my Editor, and last my Publisher. Enjoy the moment and continue writing.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

No I’m sorry I don’t.

What do you do when you’re not writing?

This is my problem. I don’t suffer from writer’s block. I write all the time. I have a dream diary; I have a tape recorder in my car so that I can record my thoughts while driving and I carry a mini pad to write down any ideas that may come to me while out and about.

I have notebooks upon notebooks of ideas and sketches – glad to hear that my need to jot it all down before I forget it isn’t odd. Please share with us the first nine lines of a current work.

From “Field of Shrieks”:

My sleep was once again interrupted in the middle of the night. I jolted upright with the same, but more intense apprehension as the night before, that I wasn’t alone! Unlike the previous night I was able to focus and I hesitated to turn on the light, intrigued by the sensations before hearing the most blood curdling shriek I ever heard. The hair stood up on my neck and the room suddenly felt cold. The scream was so clear that I sprung from the bed and ran outside to offer assistance.

I stopped running when I didn’t hear any further sounds toward which to run. There I stood, barefoot in the dew soaked grass in the middle of the back yard surrounded by the silence of the dark and listened hard with dismaying observation. Then I heard a low moan, then another from behind me. A scream followed. I frantically spun around after each sound to see where the sounds originated, but I didn’t see anyone. A chorus of suffering and crying screams, shrieks, and moans continued and escalated in volume, echoing through the darkness. I shielded my ears with my hands against the cacophony, as if I was in the middle of a crowded room closing in on me. I felt a touch upon my shoulder and ran panicked, back into the house. Glancing back over my shoulder as I ran I thought I saw numerous shadows gathering where I had been standing. The screams and moans continued until the back door slammed closed behind me. Then all was silent.

Great excerpt Scott, one I definitely want to read the end of! Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions and for giving my audience a glimpse into your career as an author. You can find Scott’s books on Amazon. Now let’s take a sneak peek into Horrorism – Scott’s current collection…

This is the collection Scott M. Goriscak’s fans have been waiting for. With three previously published stories and five brand new ones, Scott delivers the scares his readers have become addicted to. Compared to an early Clive Barker, Scott’s writing pulls the reader in to the story, before plunging them straight into a fear filled finish. Don’t read this book at night, especially if you’re alone in the house…

Horrorism

Don’t forget to join me next week when I will be interviewing author Tim Miller.

Leave a Reply

