Interviews

Nine Questions with… F.P. Curti

Today I am joined by F.P. Curti, an Italian author who is steadily making waves around the world. Welcome F.P., why don’t you take a few moment to introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

fpcMy name is F.P. Curti, I live in northern Italy and in the last four years I released three novels. The novella Bitch Caliber 45 and the short story Gore: A Ghost Story were translated in English and are now available on Amazon.com. I’m inspired by the American province and my stories combine horror, psycho-thriller and noir themes.

Thank you F.P., tell us about your writing process?

I think a good novel needs strong foundations to stand up. I usually start with a single idea or image (often people say my books are narrated like the scenes of a movie), then I work hard on the structure of the full story. No typing before the structure has been done…

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I’m fascinated by dark and eerie atmospheres. I grew up reading of vampires, ghosts, zombie etc., and I continue to love them. Normally, I don’t write about monsters, but I do tell tales of the human mind: in my stories the boogieman is not under the bed, it’s embodied by the psychosis of the characters.

What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

Good question. The author who has influenced my style the most is Stephen King. Pet Sematary and Roadworks are probably his best works to me. Richard Bachman (SK’s pseudonym for Roadworks) uses a raw and direct writing-style which is closed to mine – this is what people say – and I’m very proud of it! Rounding out my top 5 are Edgar Allan Poe’s short stories, James Ellroy’s Black Dalhia, and Stevenson’s Dr. Jeckyl and Mr Hyde.

Great choices! If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Jack Nicholson as the old villain, of course! Cillian Murphy would be perfect as the main character and Scarlett Johansson as the dark lady.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Wow! A little party and then I’d start another book… It may seem strange, but being on the NY times for me would be a new starting point.

That doesn’t seem strange at all. One cannot simply rest on their laurels. Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

I think every story should have an original soundtrack. I choose a particular music-genre for the book I’m writing and let it inspire me. Vices? As every story has soundtrack music, every story has also an alcoholic drink!

I find that music can inspire certain moods for writing as well. What do you do when you’re not writing?

In 2011, I started a video-production company. We have a lot of projects as documentaries and commercial videos.

Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

My new manuscript is in editing and my agent would kill me if I shared part of it! But here are the first lines of my last short story called Gore: A Ghost Story. It was translated into English and is available on Amazon in paperback and eBook editions. What’s better than a ghost story for Halloween? Hope you like it!

It was mid-July. The red RCA radio was sounding the notes of “All of Me”, an old version sung by Billie Holliday. A glass bottle lay shattered on the floor and there was milk everywhere. Madeleine was there, in the darkest corner of the kitchen, with her arms wrapped tightly around her bare legs. Tears had smeared her make-up all over her face. Madeleine remained perfectly still, staring at the broken bottle in the center of the room. Some fragments of glass had cut her feet, and she had never liked the sight of blood. But that evening she wasn’t crying for the wounds under her feet, but because of the blood on her apron.

Blood that wasn’t hers…

Thank you F.P.! If you want to connect with F.P., you can find him on Facebook and his website.

Now let’s take a sneak peek into Bitch Caliber 45 and Gore: A Ghost Story!

bitch - coverThe whore pushes that damn bitch caliber .45 into my mouth. She smiles at me with her scar-laced lips. She knows she can blast my brains out in a split second. The bitch’s barrel is cold on my tongue. I can feel it pulse, ready to peer down my throat and blow a hole as big as the heart of a pig. The whore has fucked me, she has overturned the game. Now she’s handling the bitch, and the gun barrel is in my mouth. I’m not even trembling anymore. Her eyes stare at me full of rage and anger…

***

cover-gore (eng)In the 60s two lesbians would never have been allowed to live downtown, then Madeleine and Matilda moved to the open-minded black neighborhood. Life went on, and it was good. Matilda’s gloom for her brother Edward’s death seemed gone and summer was coming… the best time of their lives, until Edward’s ghost came back, and it sure didn’t like his sister’s lover…

Join me next week when my guest will be Angela Brown!

One thought on “Nine Questions with… F.P. Curti

  1. Great interview. Now I have a new author to follow. F.P.’s books sound like my kind of reading. Thanks so much for sharing.

Leave a Reply

