Guest Post

Guest Post: Joshua Cook

Today I’m joined by Joshua Cook, who is again touring in support of his novel AiZ: Alice in Zombieland. For those of you who don’t know who Josh is, let’s take a moment to introduce him.

Josh and BradiJoshua Cook was born in Kenosha, Wisconsin, late in 1977. This where he spent most of his life. There have been short bursts throughout his life where he has spread his wild oats to other parts of the United States, though.

Briefly Josh lived in Arizona and a brief – dark – time in Indiana and Ohio. Finally he landed in Washington state. He now calls Washington home where he lives with his girlfriend and dog. 

This is where he created the growing fan favorite web site ZombieACRES.com, which spawned its first book in 2012. After many years of writing non-fiction, news, and various other articles, Josh decided to poke around in fiction – and is loving it.

And now let’s hand it over to Josh…

I Miss Writing

So I did it. I can sit here at the mess my girlfriend and I call our office (I use that term very loosely) and say that I am a published author. Sure, I am a self-published author, but that does not change the fact that somewhere in the world people are having a reaction to something I created. After all, isn’t that the whole point of being a writer – to elicit a reaction?

But now what?

I published my first novella AiZ: Alice in Zombieland (Complete Saga) a year ago, with the final edit being released earlier this year. I have also been included in 100 Horrors, an anthology featuring one hundred talented authors. Many writers would ride this high and continue on to their next big project.

I tried that. It didn’t take.

The hardest part of writing is the focus. Blocking out the real world and engulfing yourself in a world that is still being created is fun, but not easy. My personal life took another series of ups and downs (as it is prone to doing), and it became necessary for me to focus more on a paycheck than writing. Unfortunately I have become accustomed to working for myself, and the thought of working for someone else again was (to be honest) scary as hell.

To appease the Gods of Responsibility, I changed my gears from continuing down the path of my dreams and began FreeBookDude.com, a site aimed at helping indie writers find new readers. This is transitioning into a book tour and promotion company, which was the ultimate goal. While that is awesome, the time and energy it takes leaves absolutely no time for writing.

At first this did not seem to bother me as much as it should have. I had begun fighting to see my daughter, had a family to worry about and was starting a new business that would help other authors. Even if there was a piece of me that missed writing, I was too stressed and busy to give it the time of day. Then one day it hit me…

I miss writing.

Don’t get me wrong. I really enjoy what I’m doing with FreeBookDude.com. Every day I hear from authors and readers thanking me for helping them. There is a future here and that should make me ecstatic, but it doesn’t. Each day that I’m not writing, I feel a little more sadness creep inside me.

I read a lot about what to get your first indie book published. I’ve read a lot on marketing your book and trying to get readers interested in your work. The one thing I never read one thing about is what to do once reality sets in and your dreams are once again forced onto the back burner and you feel crushed.

So here I sit, in this mess that my girlfriend and I call an office, looking over To-Do Lists and stressing about numbers. I know deep down that someday I will write again. That focus will come back to me, I just need to find the proper key to unlock it. Until that day I am faced with the simple act that…

I miss writing.

***

Angel on the grave - dramatic lightingAiZ: Alice in Zombieland (Complete Saga)

In a world where corporate greed is allowed to run wild, Roslun Global has become the largest pharmaceutical company in the world. As head of this juggernaut of a company, Richard Roslun wields unheard of global power. To obtain and hold onto this power, Roslun is willing to do anything, including killing innocents.

When Richard Roslun realizes what he must do to save everything, his sights become set on a young girl named Alice. When Alice’s mother returns home from work with an infection, all hell breaks lose in Alice’s fragile world. Alice and her sister Georgia are hiding as death is literally banging on the front door when the unthinkable happens.

A second outbreak tests the love between Sam Ashe and and his fiancé Heather. Sam is a horror geek who has always been obsessed with zombies. When his fantasies become a reality, the man inside him will have to rise to the adventure ahead.

Fate brings Sam and Georgia together in the mission to save young Alice. Will love be enough to fight off the undead and stop pure corporate greed?

Find AiZ: Alice in Zombieland (Complete Saga) on Amazon Kindle, Barnes and Noble Nook, Paperback, and many other online retailers.

Thanks Josh!

Leave a Reply

