Random · The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing…

I’ve bowed to the pressure and accepted the challenge of The Next Big Thing from my dear friend and fellow Snow, Rebecca. She blogs over at Rebecca Snow – Cemetery Flower; where she writes from the house because the Zombies are at the door.

It’s not really a daunting task, mainly you just need to answer the questions below and then post next week after the person that nominated you. Then you’re supposed to tag five victims other authors for the next week (it should be Wednesday January 2nd, but with the holidays, I am posting a day late).

What is the working title of your book?

At this point, I’ve been toying with a few different titles. I won’t know what it will end up being until the first draft is finally finished. But just to give you a teaser, it will either be called… The Sanity of Insomnia or Shift.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for this book materialized on one of the many nights that I lay awake plagued by persistent insomnia. It all centers on the question: what happens when we fall asleep?

What genre does your book fall under?

It’s a genre-bending horror tale with science fiction undertones.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, that’s a good question. I’d love to see Carrie-Anne Moss playing the main female lead named Catherine and Phillip Seymour Hoffman playing one of the two main male leads. The other male lead would be played by Alan Tudyk, in a perfect world of course.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Sleep is essential to our sanity, but what if sleep was merely a portal to a different life?

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

At this point, the book will be self-published, but I’m always open to what may happen.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still currently writing the first draft and with all of my other obligations, it’s coming out slowly, but surely. I’m hoping to be completely finished sometime in the spring. I cannot wait for this to hit the shelves as it will showcase a completely different side to me.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Honestly, I cannot think of any at the moment. Not that I’m trying to say that there are no other books that are similar, I just haven’t come across any that are.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

The need to get the story out of my head. It’s hard to live with different story lines fighting for attention. The life of a storyteller is difficult one because you are always at the beck and call of your muses.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

It will make you reconsider what you thought you knew about sleep, especially what you dream about.

Now for my five two choices (and these are in no particular order):

Wolf Scott

Alex Chase

Hopefully next week, you’ll be seeing a blog post from them!

Leave a Reply

