Interviews

Nine Questions with… William Butler

Today I’m joined by fellow author and friend William Butler. Welcome William, introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

My name is William Butler. I am the author of The House of Balestrom series, the crime trilogy Bang and Time of the Season. I am currently working on my next novel entitled Nine to Dine. I write mystery/suspense novels with dramatic and crazy twists. If I can fool you with my writing and still tell a great story then I am satisfied. I’ve been writing since I can remember and loved telling my stories to an audience.

What is your writing process?

I outline all my novels. Write down major plot points and then minor ones. Then I write.

Very organized – I have to admit that for the most part I’m the complete opposite. I’ve tried to plan and then the story develops in another direction once it starts growing on paper. Tell us, is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

I may try my hand at sci-fi. We will see. I have an idea for something apocalyptic.

Oohh Apocalyptic!! One of my personal favourites!! I’ll need updates on that one for sure!! What are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

Misery by Stephen King- This was the first book of his I read. Loved it. Love the King.

Peyton Place by Grace Metalious – Um all I can say is wow. Drama. Murder. Sex. It’s a great book!

Valley of The Dolls by Jacqueline Susann – What can I say this is a guilty pleasure. Scandalous at the time it came out. Still stirs the pot if you ask me.

Choke by Chuck Palahniuk– You can’t go wrong with this guy! Hilarious situations with crazy characters.

Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell– I do not know about you but this is an epic novel. It’s a big book with everything in it.

Great choices!! If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Natalie Portman would play Sara from my House of Balestrom series.

So William, what is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

Be thankful I made it to that point and then check it over and over again to make sure I wasn’t hallucinating.

Speaking of hallucinations… Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing?

Music and Meditation

Hmm, not the expose I was looking for… What do you do when you’re not writing William?

I think about writing. I can’t seem to escape it.

Time for the fun stuff! Please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

From NINE TO DINE:

A gloom settled over Bellview Manor for some years. A gloom embraced by a dark history. One that, to this day, still lingered like an old wound. Its history forever enveloping its occupants with a dark grip.

Bellview Manor stood strong. Unlike most manors in the area, it was an impenetrable fortress tucked away into a mountainside. With walls that stretched seventeen feet high. Nothing human was capable of entering or leaving its stronghold without a struggle. The manor itself was pieced together from old stone brought down from the mountain that dominated its skyline.

Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions William. If you’re looking to connect with William you can find him on his website, on Facebook, on Twitter at @Will34us.

Interested in partaking in some of William’s works? Take a gander at The House of Balestrom and Bang. Don’t forget that clicking on the covers will take you directly to Amazon!

A tragic death. Two sisters…one who marries for love…the other marries into THE HOUSE OF BALESTROM. When Susan’s husband, Victor Balestrom, dies in a mysterious and tragic accident, Susan is suspected of murdering him. With the Balestrom family, manipulated by Camille Balestrom, pointing fingers. Susan calls on her sister, Sara and her husband David to come to the private island owned by the Balestrom family to be by her side during this tragic moment in her life. But Sara and David’s visit become twisted and manipulated by someone in the family, who not only want Susan to pay for her crimes, but want revenge as well. Will Sara discover who is behind everything before it is too late? Who is the mysterious man roaming the island grounds–the man who terrorizes Sara at every turn? Secrets are abound and will be revealed all the way to its tragic end.

***

Tim Jones had everything planned out. He was going to tell his wife, Shelley, that he still loved her. He didn’t care if she cheated on him with his best friend, Frank. He wanted Shelley back and was ready to move on. That was until someone shot him…

***

Don’t forget to join me next week when my guest will be Kealan Patrick Burke.

Leave a Reply

