Coffin Hop 2012 · Interviews

Nine Questions with… Vince Considine

Today I am joined by author Vince Considine! Vince has a new novel coming out the middle of November 2012 titled ‘Unable’ and its genre is something I find fascinating – satanic horror thriller! Welcome Vince, why don’t you take this moment to introduce yourself to the captive audience that you now have before you.

I grew up in Brooklyn NY, but during my teenage years I lived in Southern Jersey, after which I moved back to NY. My life so far has been like the show Lost, not like lost lost but like what the hell just happened. I was a DJ at the age of sixteen. I worked or what we used to say in the late 80’s I spinned LOL – High School dances, Sweet Sixteen’s and New Year’s Eve parties. I remember telling my parents I wanted be a bodybuilding DJ; the look on their faces… priceless.  But one thing, I loved to read. I read The Pearl, Catcher in Rye, Lord of the Flies, The Hobbit, Frankenstein, Bram Stokers Dracula, comic books, etc. After high school my father, who reads a book every two weeks introduced me to Tom Clancy and Stephen King. I hadn’t started writing yet, but I was at crossroad. I didn’t know if wanted to go back to college, or start-up a DJ’ing business – I had no idea. Then I did a total 360 – I took a job as a plumber’s helper. It was hard, but the money was good and 17 years later, I became a toilet expert. I still wasn’t writing but I was still reading. Koontz, McCarthy, King, Tolkien, etc. Then at the end of 2008, all the money in the USA vanished and I was out of work.  That’s when I start writing…

What is your writing process, Vince?

First, I try to read everything I can possible get my hands on with the same subject matter… books, articles, movie scripts etc. Then I outline – I love to character trait – I trait everything, I’m traiter – characters, cities, cars, countries everything. And Seinfeld’s “Don’t break the chain” is a great for daily motivation.

Is there a genre, other than the one you currently write in, that you wish you could break into?

Comedy – To me comedy writers are the cream of the crop.

I have always wanted to write a comedy as well. I do have some pieces that border on dark comedy and I absolutely love the freedom it gives me! Tell us Vince, what are the 5 books that have influenced you the most, and why?

I have four

Lord of the Rings – The sci-fi bible of good vs evil. The book has everything; war, love, friendship, family, hope, commitment everything and the way Tolkien webbed it all together – genius.

The Stand – like all of King’s books except for the Dark Tower series. With The Stand, it’s like he sitting on your couch and telling you the story and this epic is his greatest tale.

Blood Meridian – Cormac McCarthy – The reason for this book – take way the absolute horrific nature of this book and absorb the art.

In Cold Blood – Capote drops reader on the plains of Holcomb, Kansas, and you feel like your inches from a shotgun blast or hearing the rain drops beat against the metal roof. An American Classic.

If you could cast one of your works, who would you choose to play your main characters?

Michele Williams – I thought about it and she can definitely play Shila.

What is the first thing you would do if you woke up one morning to find one of your books on the NY Times Bestsellers List?

My parents would be calling me before I saw the paper… I don’t know, that’s a hard question – Don’t get wrong it’s a major accomplishment – But it’s not my goal.

Do you have any vices that you turn to while you are writing? 

Yes… classical music.

What do you do with your time when you’re not writing, Vince?

Work – workout, I just starting juicing LOL…

Now it’s time for the really fun part! We get to take a look at what your writing so, please share with us the first nine lines of your current work-in-progress.

Shades of gray, features distorted, sockets wide, endless and black. A ghostly mouth deformed and frozen – a demonic image… Downward, plunging towards the ghoulish portrait, the horrific mug becomes larger and larger, disappearing in the cavity below its lifeless eyes.

So compelling Vince! Thank you very much for taking the time to answer my questions. If you’re looking to connect with Vince, you can find him on Twitter! Make sure to follow him so you can keep up with all the news of his upcoming release!

Join my next week when my guest will be Patrick Greene!

Since this is Coffin Hop, don’t forget to leave a comment for your chance to win a digital version of my book Days with the Undead: Book One or the grand prize for the week of autographed print copies of Days with the Undead: Book One, Childhood Nightmares: Under the Bed, and Twisted Realities: Of Myth and Monstrosity!

***

THE GORY DETAILS from the COFFIN HOP AFICIONADOS!

1) HAVE A SPOOKY FUN TIME!

2) INVITE YOUR FRIENDS AND SPREAD THE WORD!

3) THIS TOUR STARTS: October 24 at Midnight (PST)

THIS TOUR ENDS: October 31 at Midnight (PST)

Winners will be drawn and posted November 1, 2012

4) MEET AND MINGLE WITH THE AUTHORS! EXPERIENCE A NEW DESTINATION AT EVERY STOP! PARTICIPATE IN EVERY SITE’S CONTEST AND BE ENTERED FOR CHANCES TO WIN MULTIPLE PRIZES! EVERY BLOG VISITED IS ANOTHER OPPORTUNITY TO WIN!

5) PARTICIPATION AT ALL SITES IS RECOMMENDED, BUT NOT REQUIRED. THE MORE SITES YOU HOP, THE BETTER YOUR CHANCES OF WINNING PRIZES.

6) DID I MENTION TO HAVE A SPOOKY FUN TIME?

Don’t forget to check out the rest of the Hoppers here!

***Authors have full discretion to choose an alternate winner in the event any winner fails to claim their prize(s) within 72 hours of their name being posted or after notification of win, whichever comes first. Anyone who participates in this tour is subject to these rules***

4 thoughts on “Nine Questions with… Vince Considine

Leave a Reply

