Book Reviews

Review: Dead(ish) by Naomi Kramer

“Women! You can’t live with ’em, can’t escape even by killing ’em.”

Recently I picked up this little gem for free from Amazon. Here’s the synopsis exactly as I first read it…

Linda’s had a bad day. First her boyfriend killed her. Then she woke up, still on this boring plane of existence, and with an odd obsession about her missing body. Mike won’t tell her what he did with her body, and she can’t find the stupid thing herself. There’s only one thing she can do – torment the bastard until he coughs up the information.

So you can see why I was intrigued!

Normally I don’t review shorts (the story is only in the area of about 11,000 words). Heck, I haven’t reviewed anything in quite some time. As 2012 dawns on us, I’ve decided that it’s about time that I share my thoughts about what I’ve been reading. And I read this, so it counts!

Ultimately I found the story that Kramer wove together quite delightful! Fascinating even. But not from a “this has never been done standpoint”. More of a “why the heck haven’t I thought of doing something like this yet!”. The manner in which Kramer pieced together the plot through the use of multiple points of view was fun and just quirky enough to keep me intrigued. And her descriptions of what Linda does to Mike are hilarious!

“I look like a smurf, a munchkin and an oompa loompa had an orgy and I was their love-child.”

Just so that you’re aware, Linda is dead(ish) and Mike killed her. The novelette revolves around Linda’s search for her missing dead body. Actually, it’s interesting how Kramer tempers the spectral aspect in a fresh new way. In her story, Linda has the ability to reappear in her previous form, touch things, talk to people, most of the things any living person can do. It’s an interesting twist and I have to say that it helps to move the story along more quickly. And believe it or not, adds an aspect of conceivability to the plot. How else could she have secured the services of a private detective?

For a free novelette, this was a great value. It’s even the first in a series of books. Having read Dead(ish), I’m going to spend my money and pick up the other 2 in the series; (technically) Dead and Dead (as a doorpost).

Overall Rating:

4 out of 5 stars!

2 thoughts on “Review: Dead(ish) by Naomi Kramer

Leave a Reply

